command prompt missing in accessories folder

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Help and Support' started by vaisforlovers, Apr 7, 2012.

  1. vaisforlovers

    vaisforlovers New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2012
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    I used to have command prompt in my accessories folder but it is now missing. I need to run it in Administrator mode. I get the prompt when I use the Run option but I don't know how to get to the administrator mode.
    Any help is appreciater./
    Joanne
     
  2. Saltgrass

    Saltgrass Excellent Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    15,157
    Likes Received:
    393
    Winkey and type cmd then CTRL+Shift+Enter.
     
  3. whs

    whs Extraordinary Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,541
    Likes Received:
    106
    cmd sits in the system32 folder ( C:\Windows\System32). You can make a shortcut from there. Then right click on that shortcut > Properties > Advanced > check the little box 'always run as admin' > OK > Apply. Now it will always run in admin mode.
     
  4. trideepb

    trideepb New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have tried to run command prompt in administrator mode from run commands.
    You can try "cmd\adm" in run box, but I have noticed several features being denied as if it is running non-adm mode. eg, you cannot gain access bcdedit.exe from cmd\adm command
     
  5. vaisforlovers

    vaisforlovers New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2012
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    I couldn't find the file in Windows system 32. sorry now what do I do? thanks
    Joanne

     
  6. Saltgrass

    Saltgrass Excellent Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    15,157
    Likes Received:
    393
    If there is no cmd.exe in the C:\Windows\System32 folder, something must have deleted it.

    There should also be one in:

    C:\Windows\winsxs\amd64_microsoft-windows-commandprompt_31bf3856ad364e35_6.1.7601.17514_none_e932cc2c30fc13b0

    which you could try to copy to the system32 folder.

    Or get a copy from another computer..
     
  7. whs

    whs Extraordinary Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,541
    Likes Received:
    106
    Joanne, I think Saltgrass covered it. I wonder how you could have deleted it. If you cannot find a copy, tell us whether you have a 32bit or 64bit system and one of us can upload a copy for you. It is not big. Only 340KB.
     
  8. Drew

    Drew Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2006
    Messages:
    3,575
    Likes Received:
    146
    Type cmp in Search. When it comes up on the Start Menu, Rt Clk > Run as Admin
     
  9. vaisforlovers

    vaisforlovers New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2012
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah! I found the cmd in my System 32 folder. I don't know exactly what I did but I followed each poster's reply and somewhere in there was the solution.
    Thanks so much for all ya'lls help. What a terrific forum you are:p
    Joanne

     
  10. Bryan426

    Bryan426 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2016
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    i reformated my pc and cmd is missing. Any ideas on how to get it ?
     
  11. Neemobeer

    Neemobeer Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2015
    Messages:
    1,718
    Likes Received:
    274
    You can just add a shortcut to it in Windows Accessories.
    • Go to C:\Windows\System32 and locate cmd.exe and right click it and create shortcut
    • Copy the shortcut to C:\ProgramData\Microsoft\Windows\Start Menu\Programs\Accessories
     

Share This Page

Loading...