Windows 7 compatibility question

Discussion in 'Windows Games' started by spikey70, Aug 21, 2009.

  1. spikey70

    spikey70 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi, newbie here. Bare with me as I'm just a hair above computer stupid. Question is I currently am running xp, am about to upgrade to new system (64bit vista and will upgrade to win7). Is there any hope that the basic level games we currently own will work on the new systems, and if so, what will we need to do? Most of the games we have state system requirements include vista.... Thanks in advance for your responses. Greg.
     
  2. Highwayman

    Highwayman Extraordinary Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2009
    Messages:
    3,977
    Likes Received:
    112
    Most if not all games made in the last 2-3 years work on Vista/Windows 7 happily, and there's always XP Virtual Machine (For games that are seriously old or don't require high end graphic cards) as always there's gonna be a handful of strugglers often fixed later by driver updates or game updates. It's also worth stating that many games by EA for example say they are Vista incompatible on the box and run perfectly well on it (C&C Tib Wars for example).

    My Experience? about 5 games out of my vast collection going back 10 years can't be tweaked into service....yet and to be fair they so old I don't really care, although I had to use XP VM to run my "Freelancer" dedicated server to be able to play it online, which works perfectly.
     
    #2 Highwayman, Aug 24, 2009
    Last edited: Aug 24, 2009
  3. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,829
    Likes Received:
    1,565
    I agree with Highwayman.. There's not much that can't be tweaked into service.. Halo runs even better on 7 than it did on vista but that's just one example...
     
  4. Highwayman

    Highwayman Extraordinary Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2009
    Messages:
    3,977
    Likes Received:
    112
    what about Halo 2? although to be fair it seriously needs a POV fix, I had issues with it on Vista x64 but was more down to shoddy PC porting I think as it didnt crash out etc.
     
  5. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,829
    Likes Received:
    1,565
    I think it's an awful game and an awful port (IMO)... I tried playing it again the other day and just couldn't be bothered with it. Real shame as Halo is such an awesome game...
     
  6. Highwayman

    Highwayman Extraordinary Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2009
    Messages:
    3,977
    Likes Received:
    112
    I know what you mean, my biggest gripe was the zoomed POV, was like wearing horse blinkers as had very narrow field of view which is totally naff on a FPS regardless of its origins...shame as such a naff port has likely doomed our chances at getting the 3rd installment.
     
  7. Jdawg

    Jdawg New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    One quick note that is worth mentioning, games that use 3D rendering which is more common than you think (Pangya, Combat Arms etc.) will not work in XP mode. At least it didnt with the RC. I threw the RC on my computer a while back and ended up taking it off because none of my games would work on it. They have updated those games now and work with my RTM copy, but just something you might want to consider.
     

Share This Page

Loading...