computer deselects active window

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Help and Support' started by reallycoolguy, Aug 13, 2012.

  1. reallycoolguy

    reallycoolguy New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    hi, i seem to have a problem with my computer deselecting my active window and normally i wouldn't care but it happens like every minute or so. i can't even type this without interruption. i've looked at my processes in task manager, and the only difference i see is that it will have svchost and windows error reporting activate for a few seconds before going away again. this leads me to believe i have a problem except it doesn't tell me what said problem is. i have looked at similar threads, but i haven't found a solution that worked. the only action that i've tried is turning off the error reporting except that just replaces the deactivating window with a constant notification that host process has stopped working and i need to close the program. Any help on this issue is much appreciated. i don't know if this helps or not but i have an asus g74sx.
     
  2. Saltgrass

    Saltgrass Excellent Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    15,157
    Likes Received:
    393
    If Windows Error Reporting is activating, you should leave an entry in the log, which you can check with the Event Viewer. If there are messages you might be able to gain more info by expanding the message and looking at the specifics.

    But some things do run in the background all the time. If something is stealing focus, it might be showing a popup you are not seeing.

    And I suppose you have removed any USB flash drives from your system for testing?
     
  3. reallycoolguy

    reallycoolguy New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    i looked in the event viewer, which before you said something, i had no idea about it, umm it says under the errors section that i have an application error which has happened 3 times in the last hour, 269 times in the last 24 hours, and 2362 times in the last 7 days. it doesn't say which application and the help option didn't help any, so where do i go from there? also, what's this testing i have to do? i only have my mouse in the usb thing but thats not it cause i've removed it and it still continues. thank you for your help so far.
     
  4. reallycoolguy

    reallycoolguy New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    ah, i found what it says, here is what it says:

    Log Name: Application
    Source: Application Error
    Date: 8/14/2012 2:14:06 PM
    Event ID: 1000
    Task Category: (100)
    Level: Error
    Keywords: Classic
    User: N/A
    Computer: Andrew-PC
    Description:
    Faulting application name: svchost.exe, version: 6.1.7600.16385, time stamp: 0x4a5bc100
    Faulting module name: unknown, version: 0.0.0.0, time stamp: 0x00000000
    Exception code: 0xc0000005
    Fault offset: 0x74d3c9f1
    Faulting process id: 0x21f8
    Faulting application start time: 0x01cd7a4897c6770e
    Faulting application path: C:\Windows\SysWOW64\svchost.exe
    Faulting module path: unknown
    Report Id: d5886e51-e63b-11e1-9b44-742f6879c097
    Event Xml:
    <Event xmlns="Error">
    <System>
    <Provider Name="Application Error" />
    <EventID Qualifiers="0">1000</EventID>
    <Level>2</Level>
    <Task>100</Task>
    <Keywords>0x80000000000000</Keywords>
    <TimeCreated SystemTime="2012-08-14T18:14:06.000000000Z" />
    <EventRecordID>19208</EventRecordID>
    <Channel>Application</Channel>
    <Computer>Andrew-PC</Computer>
    <Security />
    </System>
    <EventData>
    <Data>svchost.exe</Data>
    <Data>6.1.7600.16385</Data>
    <Data>4a5bc100</Data>
    <Data>unknown</Data>
    <Data>0.0.0.0</Data>
    <Data>00000000</Data>
    <Data>c0000005</Data>
    <Data>74d3c9f1</Data>
    <Data>21f8</Data>
    <Data>01cd7a4897c6770e</Data>
    <Data>C:\Windows\SysWOW64\svchost.exe</Data>
    <Data>unknown</Data>
    <Data>d5886e51-e63b-11e1-9b44-742f6879c097</Data>
    </EventData>
    </Event>
     
  5. Saltgrass

    Saltgrass Excellent Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    15,157
    Likes Received:
    393
    The info may not be all that helpful. I think the exception code 0xc0000005 is an access violation.

    But because the faulting application is a svchost, it does not point out the exact cause. A Svchost is a host process for other threads or processes, that run inside it. The offending item is shown as unknown. It does show the process ID, so some software, like Process Explorer, would be able to show what is running in that service host.

    If you open Task Manager, under the Processes tab, you can use the View menu to set columns and show PID. If you match that number, or its decimal equivalent, you will know which service host is hiding the culprit.

    If you check the Action Center, it may have some info, or allow you to check the net for info.

    I am doing some investigating to find out if anything else is available to give you better info. Let us know if you discover anything else.
     
  6. bodgey

    bodgey New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi, I am having the exact same problem. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
     
  7. bodgey

    bodgey New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Worked it out, Disable windows firewall but make sure your firewall is active Via your router.
     
  8. Saltgrass

    Saltgrass Excellent Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    15,157
    Likes Received:
    393
    I don't think this is your answer. More likely Windows Firewall could be blocking something trying to call home. Not a good idea to disable the firewall.
     
  9. bodgey

    bodgey New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    :( seems to be doing it again......
     
  10. murph

    murph New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    i am also having the exact same problem
     
    #10 murph, Oct 17, 2012
    Last edited: Oct 17, 2012
  11. murph

    murph New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    SOLVED IT!!! it seems to be some weird glitch with the aero mouse pointers so just change what pointers you have and it seems to fix it :D
     
    #11 murph, Oct 17, 2012
    Last edited: Oct 17, 2012
  12. Justrandomguy

    Justrandomguy New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Having had the same problem, and not finding a solution in English, I ran a search in Spanish and came up with a solution that worked for me: Apparently, while using my LINK-D Wifi application to connect to my router, instead of the normal Windows Wireless Connector, it ran in the background minimized. After turning that off (the LINK-D wireless connect app.) everything went back to normal, which is great because it was driving me insane. Hope this helps,
     
  13. Scott Creecy

    Scott Creecy New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Please explain. My desktop is where this is happening, and I am hardwired. How do I shut off the app you mention?
    So far I hate Windows 8! I may not be very OS savvy, but it seems like a step backwards!
     
  14. Anrie

    Anrie Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2014
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I had the same problem and aslo have a LINK-D Wifi adapter, if you right click on the internet icon(bottom right) click on "Troubleshoot problems" it will run through the troubleshooter and fix a wireless connection issue, this solved my problem.
     
  15. DougH

    DougH New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2014
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I found a tip elsewhere having tried all sorts of recommendations on various tech sites.
    Run PANDA antivirus (free). It found a threat and removed it. Now all ok
     

Share This Page

Loading...