Computer Start-Up Issues

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Help and Support' started by maradragon, Jan 7, 2010.

  1. maradragon

    maradragon New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    For some reason 2 days after I bought my new computer my taskbar, desktop, alt+tab, and task manager would freeze 1-2 minutes after start up. The only way I can use my computer now is open like 10 programs and a full screen game then use ctrl+alt+del and press log off that way a force log off button and cancel will appear and I click cancel. Once I click cancel everything works fine. How do I fix this?

    The following is the computer I'm using: http://h10010.www1.hp.com/wwpc/ca/en/ho/WF06b/12454-12454-3329740-64546-64546-3999455-4007343.html?lang=en&jumpid=oc_R1002_CAENC-001_HP%20Pavilion%20Elite%20e9230f%20Desktop%20PC&cc=ca
     
  2. Radenight

    Radenight New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    Messages:
    4,525
    Likes Received:
    108
    Hello and Welcome to Windows7forums.. ;)

    This is an odd problem.. Let's see if we can rectify the situation.. :)

    Are you using a special keyboard by any chance? Special as in a gaming keyboard or wireless keyboard? Something that requires you to install drivers in order for it to function properly?
     
  3. maradragon

    maradragon New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Um nope my keyboard is an ordinary USB keyboard that is plug and use. I've been using this keyboard for around a year on my old computer too.
     
  4. maradragon

    maradragon New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    ... 2 weeks and still no reply?
     
  5. maradragon

    maradragon New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    heh its alright jsut started getting annoyed having to do all that stuff everyday to use my comp

    yah its a startup issue and in safe mode theres no problems with startup
     
  6. maradragon

    maradragon New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    um on my start menu i dont see run

    where could i find it?
     
  7. Trouble

    Trouble Noob Whisperer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    13,845
    Likes Received:
    833
    maradrago and Ben:
    Sorry for butting in but I think that this would be a good opportunity to tell everyone who might read this how to turn on the "Run" dialog box. So if I may, just right click on taskbar choose properties, go to the Start Menu Tab, choose the customize button, scroll down and check "Run command". I do so like to use it, and actually wish everyone would turn it on. Sorry for the interruption.
     
  8. maradragon

    maradragon New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    @Ben when i did diagnostic it didnt freeze
    what should i do? my startup file thing has been empty too

    @Trouble no problem and thanks for that tip it was helpful
     
  9. maradragon

    maradragon New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    uhhh whats the start-up and services tab?
    also where would i find the "hide microsoft" box?
     
  10. Trouble

    Trouble Noob Whisperer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    13,845
    Likes Received:
    833
    Click start click run type msconfig take a look at the attachments
     
  11. maradragon

    maradragon New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    uhh for this do i have to use the diagnostic startup or i can just run it now and send the screenshot?
     
  12. maradragon

    maradragon New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    cause right now when i checked the box has to scroll so when i send i would have like 3-5 screenshots just to show you everything
     
  13. Trouble

    Trouble Noob Whisperer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    13,845
    Likes Received:
    833
    If I'm understanding correctly even after you check the box that says hide all microsoft services you still have to scroll to see them all? For startup programs, try using the system information utility and expand software environment and select startup programs see if that helps
     
  14. maradragon

    maradragon New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
  15. Trouble

    Trouble Noob Whisperer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    13,845
    Likes Received:
    833
    Bad attachments try again, just choose the upload files and that should do it.
     
  16. maradragon

    maradragon New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    here it is again
     

    Attached Files:

  17. Trouble

    Trouble Noob Whisperer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    13,845
    Likes Received:
    833

Share This Page

Loading...