Connection failure for one specific address: PCWorld.com

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Help and Support' started by Commander_Cool, Dec 31, 2009.

  1. Commander_Cool

    Commander_Cool Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2009
    Messages:
    343
    Likes Received:
    2
    Hi, I have been having, for a week or two, the weirdest problem ever. Let's say I try to follow a link in PCWorlds newsletter, I then get an error message saying:

    "Connection Failed. Firefox cannot connect to the server at Reviews and News on Tech Products, Software and Downloads - PC World.

    - The site may be temporarily down, try again
    etc. etc.

    The message comes up immediately, no trying, just bang - head against the wall.

    The same happens if I manually enter: Reviews and News on Tech Products, Software and Downloads - PC World.

    Same difference with Internet Explorer.

    The weird thing is that it's only PCWorld.com I cannot connect to, all other sites (this one, for instance) work fine.

    I just can't remember what I might have done to exclude myself from PCWorld.

    Can anybody out there guess what's the matter?

    Thank you!
     
  2. tblount

    tblount New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,537
    Likes Received:
    64
    Try 70.42.185.10

    They seem to have ping turned off.
     
  3. Commander_Cool

    Commander_Cool Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2009
    Messages:
    343
    Likes Received:
    2
    Alright, is 70.42.185.10 it? No http:// etc? Because when I enter 70.42.185.10, I get the same error.
     
  4. tblount

    tblount New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,537
    Likes Received:
    64
    Go to command prompt and type and enter ping pcworld.com
    you'll see it times out but shows the ip address

    ping google.com and see how it should work
     
  5. Super Sarge

    Super Sarge New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,737
    Likes Received:
    64
    I just typed in Pcworld.com in address bar of FF and went immediately to the their web page.
     
  6. Commander_Cool

    Commander_Cool Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2009
    Messages:
    343
    Likes Received:
    2
    So did I a few minutes ago, but now I'm on a different PC - my utility machine. It's an HP Pavillion, 3-4 years old and running Windows XP 64-bit.
    I knew all along that the problem lay somewhere in the configuration of the other PC (an ASUS bare-bone running Windows 7) but I still don't know what to do about it.
    Ah, well, maybe next year ;)
     
  7. Super Sarge

    Super Sarge New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,737
    Likes Received:
    64
  8. Commander_Cool

    Commander_Cool Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2009
    Messages:
    343
    Likes Received:
    2
    Yeah, well now we'll never know - 'cause it somehow straitghtened itself out! I just now clicked a link out of a PCWorld newsletter and was immediately transported there...go figure!

    Although I'm glad it's a problem no more, at the same time it's kind of frustrating because this way I'm none the wiser should it happen again.

    I just remembered my last reply to you where I said 'maybe next year'. Well, right now 2010 is two years and four minutes old here...

    As I am ahead of you by some six hours (GMT+1) I can report on the new year - It's cold as heck! Right now it's 10.1 degrees centigrade below zero outside my place.

    Glad I'm not out and about! Thanks for taking an interest in my 'case' Sarge :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...