Windows 7 Connection Issues

Hawk

I've been using the various versions of Windows 7 for about 8 months now, and was fine until just about a month ago. That being said, I have tried various tweaks and fixes suggested on both these forums and others, and have actually reformatted 3 times in the last 2 weeks. I am now using Windows 7 Professional (Build 7600, x65) as gotten from the MSDN Academic alliance.

Full system specs are at the bottom of the post, so here's the issue: Intermittently, this PC is randomly suffering connectivity issues that are not a result of the network (which I know because I am monitoring it from my laptop running Windows XP on the same swtich, and have been bugging the heck out of the network administrator). It is a college dorm network, so I do not really have access to most of the particulars. One of the biggest issues is that when I play WoW, I commonly get stuck at 'Success' while logging in, and have consistent and truly annoying lag spikes in Ventrilo. Another good example is that when I try to stream video files off of this computer from my laptop, which is hooked up to my TV, it lags out regularly for no good reason that I can find.

I really, really like Windows 7, but if I can't find a solution to this issue pretty soon, I'm really afraid it's going to have to sit on the shelf for 8 months until I move out of the dorms again. I truly appreciate any tips or ideas anyone might have, and thank you in advance.

System specs:
Operating System: Windows 7 Professional (Build 7600, x64)
Processor: Intel Core 2 Duo E8400
Motherboard: EVGA NVIDIA nForce 750i SLI FTW
Video Card: EVGA GeForce 9800 GTX Superclocked
Memory: CORSAIR 4GB (TWIN2X4096-6400C5)

Will you try this for me and let me know if you still get disconnects?

Disable ALL your Scheduled tasks. I recommend you first use a program called Autoruns (google for it) because you can simply uncheck boxes. The disable feature in the Scheduler is not so easy.