CTRL+A Problem

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Help and Support' started by rsellzey, Apr 7, 2010.

  1. rsellzey

    rsellzey New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello all.
    I installed windows 7 from xp on my laptop. For a couple of months my CTRL+A worked and then all of a sudden it quit. I have noticed that Vista had these problems. Do you think they were carried over? Any way all replies are welcomed and appreciated. Thanks and have a great day.
     
  2. busydog

    busydog New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,056
    Likes Received:
    31
    Help me understand..... CTRL-A could have only carried over if you upgraded from Vista to Win7. Is that what you did?

    You say you installed Windows 7 from XP. You can't upgrade from XP to Win7 so you upgraded from XP to Vista and then Vista to Win7???? Or maybe, you were in XP and inserted the Win7 install disk?? Trying to upgrade from anything is loaded with problems. Do a clean install and I would bet you don't have a CTRL-A problem.

     
  3. rsellzey

    rsellzey New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I didn't upgrade from Vista.

    And I really don't want to have to do a clean install if possible.
     
    #3 rsellzey, Apr 9, 2010
    Last edited: Apr 9, 2010
  4. busydog

    busydog New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,056
    Likes Received:
    31
    If you are avoiding a clean install, you upgraded. And you can't upgrade from XP so again, you need to do a clean install. I have no idea what condition you're in and that would explain your problem(s). Sorry, but I don't think anyone else can help either with an undefined Win7 state.

     

Share This Page

Loading...