Delete confirmation

#1
Does anybody know how to switch off the popup that asks you to confirm when you delete a file(s)?I have disabled this option on vista but on 7 I don't know how to...
 


webscaper

Senior Member
#2
Right click the recycle bin on the desktop and select properties. Remove the check mark from the display delete confirmation dialog box.
 


Attachments

#3
Right click the recycle bin on the desktop and select properties. Remove the check mark from the display delete confirmation dialog box.
Thanks a lot!It was so easy!I was looking for that in control pannel...
 


#4
Most emphatically this (former solution via XP and Vista) does not work with Win7 64bit, on either of my two machines. Any other suggestions most appreciated.

TE, ret.
 


#6
Seems that I had all drives set to 'do not move to recycle bin - delete immediately' which I supposed would eliminate the nag, but it isn't so. Setting all drives delete cache to a finite size and THEN deselecting the prompt works. Thanks for prompting me about the prompt, promptly.

TE, ret.
 


#7
Setting delete to NOT put the files in the Recycle Bin EVER, can be dangerous, especially if you delete a file by mistake. It's GONE!

I leave the defaults set for the Recycle Bin and if I want to delete stuff without it going into the Bin, I just hold down the left shift key when I hit Delete..... and OUT IT GOES! Simple and much safer.

Cheers Mates!
Old Timer
 


This website is not affiliated, owned, or endorsed by Microsoft Corporation. It is a member of the Microsoft Partner Program.