DELL XPS 625 cannot upgrade vista ultimate 32bit to W7 ultimate 32bit

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Installation' started by f0xy0k, Nov 14, 2009.

  1. f0xy0k

    f0xy0k New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2009
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    hi all
    yesterday i recived my DELL W7 upgrade pack for my XPS 625 32bit sys new on 16 oct 09. and decided to upgrade, inserted the DELL Upgrade assistant dvd and run and auto removed, DELL 968 AIO printer, AMD Fussion for gamers, ATI install manager then displayed big green tick stating ready to upgrade to W7 and requested the W7 upgrade DVD be inserted.
    Then W7 dvd runs sys test and flags the following



    The following issues are preventing Windows from upgrading. Cancel the upgrade, complete each task, and then restart the upgrade to continue.
    • For these items, make the following changes:

    • Install updated drivers for the following devices. Open Control Panel and search for "update device drivers".

      • [*]Storage controllers: AMD AHCI Compatible RAID Controller
    Upgrading Windows will affect the following features:
    • Windows Vista Ultimate Extras have been discontinued and will no longer be available after upgrading to Windows 7.
    so i do as requested in computer managment and attempt to update drivers but windows indicates that the AHCI is most up to date Driver.

    so i research and find that a lot of ppl having same issue for the AMD AHCI controller driver.
    i have tryed uninstalling the AHCI drivers in computer managment and installing the other drivers but nothing i try works.


    Can anyone please help me resolve this issue and upgrade to W7, i've only had vista for a few weeks and hait it so much i want to burn my pc lolz ( had xp pro befor and that work just fine and dandy)..

    i found this work around for laptops ATI AHCI Compatible RAID Driver - Windows 7 Forums
    but it's a bit confusing to me TBH not use to installing drivers manually, and i'm not sure if same fix will work for a desktop..

    Many thanks
    f0xy0k
     
  2. Saltgrass

    Saltgrass Excellent Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    15,157
    Likes Received:
    393
    If you have the RAID ACHI drivers, you should be able to load them during the install if they are on a memory stick or something accessible by the instal

    You are using ACHI on purpose? Maybe you want your drives to be hot swappable?
     
  3. f0xy0k

    f0xy0k New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2009
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    yes i have the drivers (i think these are the correct drivers)
    C:\ATI\Support\9-10_win7_32-64_ahci\Packages\Drivers\SBDrv\SB7xx\AHCI\W7
    there are 5 files listed
    Amdsata, Security Catalog
    amdsata, Setup Information
    amdsata.exe, Windows installer Package
    amdsata.sys System file
    amdxtat.sys System file

    so would i uninstall the present AHCI via computer managment, copie the above folder to flash drive, then attempt to install during W7 upgrade ( if so how ?? ).

    what would be best, upgrade or fresh install ?? all my data is backed up on another system so fresh install is option :)

    not on purpose it's the way system was shipped from dell...
    is it better to have them hot swappable ? if so, then yes..
    cheers xx
     
    #3 f0xy0k, Nov 15, 2009
    Last edited: Nov 15, 2009
  4. Saltgrass

    Saltgrass Excellent Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    15,157
    Likes Received:
    393
    The Dell site doesn't seem to have any W7 drivers for your machine. Where did you get the drivers you think are correct?
     
  5. f0xy0k

    f0xy0k New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2009
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
  6. Saltgrass

    Saltgrass Excellent Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    15,157
    Likes Received:
    393
    I haven't done it, but if they are the correct drivers, you should be able to load them when it allows during the install. If they are on a flash drive or something accessible the install should see them.

    Have you checked the site where the drivers are to see if anyone there knows how to load them.

    I did find this on the Dell Site.
     
  7. Saltgrass

    Saltgrass Excellent Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    15,157
    Likes Received:
    393
    I just downloaded the Windows 7, F6 RAID drivers for my Intel Motherboard. Yours may be different, but you should have about the same type of files. I show an .inf file, a .cat file and maybe a .sys file. There are 2 of each with one saying iaahci and the other iastor.

    Look around where you are downloading the files and see if they have a download for just a floppy install disk or something similar.

    You may have to expand the .exe file to be able to extract the files you need.
     
    #7 Saltgrass, Nov 15, 2009
    Last edited: Nov 15, 2009
  8. f0xy0k

    f0xy0k New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2009
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    yes i think we have same files, i also have 2 of each, just diffrent vendors ....

    Amdsata, Security Catalog (.cat)
    amdsata, Setup Information (.inf)
    amdsata.exe, Windows installer Package (.exe)
    amdsata.sys System file (.sys)
    amdxtat.sys System file (.sys)

    i have e-mailed DELL explaning the situation and asking if theres a driver to resolve this issue. (awaiting there reply)...

    i've decided i want to do a fresh install not a upgrade after reading a couple diffrent post on this forum about the amount of junk and conflicts upgrades can cause, my systems only 4 weeks old and pritty much just as it was shipped from DELL, i have not installed any programs from my old system yet because i always intended to go strait to W7 A.S.A.P .

    if someone could post on here the correct way to to install the AHCI drivers correctly for a fresh install (will W7 DVD scan still flag the AMD AHCI Compatible RAID Controller) i'd really appriciate it so much ....
     
  9. Saltgrass

    Saltgrass Excellent Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    15,157
    Likes Received:
    393
    Check with Dell about the entire upgrade. They probably have a help file or a list of whay might need to be down.

    As far as the ACHI, you could change it back to IDE or RAID (depending on your system) if it does turnout to be a problem.

    If you have the right files, you should be able to install Win 7 fine, if you add those at the correct time. I have some concern about the recovery partitions Dell puts on its computers, which is why I suggest checking for any special procedures from Dell.
     
  10. f0xy0k

    f0xy0k New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2009
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    yes me to thats what's stoped me from puttin xp pro on the system as soon as i got it and bf2142 wouldn't run wwith out trouble shooting - ( thats main reason i got it stop all the x2 and x4 guys having the edge over me with my old P4, it's working to hehehe) so decided to wait untill DELL released the W7. seems thats all vista is is TROUBLE .

    i recived a conformation mail today when i was at work informing me that it's been passed on to the tech guys so just awaiting there reply - i have a feeling there going to suggest a fresh install TBH we'll see.
    If i went into BIOS and changed it to RAID as oppose to AHCI, that would require a fresh install would it not,....

    thanks for your time and effort Saltgrass i really appriciate it =_=.
    if theres anything i can do in return just ask ( except rob a bank or lend u my porn collection hehehe lolz).
     
  11. Saltgrass

    Saltgrass Excellent Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    15,157
    Likes Received:
    393
    Well, there is some confusion in this area on my part. I have changed a normal drive from IDE to AHCI using the reg hack without problems, but I do not run RAID. My confusion is whether it is considered an IDE-RAID and ACHI-RAID or something else. Perhaps the possible settings in your bios would help. Mine has IDE or ACHI or RAID, but not a combination.
     
  12. f0xy0k

    f0xy0k New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2009
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    up and running

    well i got it sorted no special DELL driver was needed after all, i ran dell and got xps support and explained the situation, at first she tried to pawn me of saying it was a software issue and she would have to dedirect me , and after explaining it was hardware related and i had been trying to fix it for 4 days , she took remote access to my system and tried to upgrade ( she did not beleave that it would not, DELL HAD NEVER CO ME ACROSS THIS PROBLEM - i bet - ) so anyways guess where dell go for the compatiable driver Download AMD AHCI Compatible RAID Controller from RadarSync the very place i had been but the DL FTP speed was very slow was going to take 36hrs lolz, so she put a file on system she had DL'd. and ran the installation and it worked.
    Then i had a go at installing myself, i deleated the recovery partiton ( it's a mirror image of how system is shiped with vista, and ok to deleat) run setup and added the driver when setup asked me to from USB stick.......

    i love W7 it fantastic =_=,

    cheers for your input mate ....

    p.s if anyone else would like a copy of the AHCI driver just hit me a mail and i post NP...
     

Share This Page

Loading...