Windows 7 Desktop Icons Obscured

Discussion in 'Desktop Customization' started by richpikl, Nov 11, 2009.

  1. richpikl

    richpikl New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello - I tried searching the forums and my search did not find my situation. I'd appreciate any help on this annoyance. With the exception of My Computer, Control Panel and Network, all of my desktop icons that start programs are obscured with what looks like a 'word' document icon. I can start the program in question from the desktop but the program icon looks terrible.

    Has anyone encountered this issue and solved it or have any ideas what causes this behavior?

    Thank you.
     
  2. reghakr

    reghakr Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    14,220
    Likes Received:
    180
    Hello and welcome to the windows7forums,

    Did this occur immediately after install.?

    have you got the latest video card drivers.

    Was this an upgrade or a "clean" install?
     
  3. richpikl

    richpikl New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi - yes, immediately after install. I tried updating my video driver but had some issues. Will try again. I did an upgrade from XP using the Laplink Upgrade software, 'PCMover'. Outside of this icon issue, the system is working great and I didn't have to reinstall everything. It's odd because the shortcuts work launching programs.
     
  4. reghakr

    reghakr Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    14,220
    Likes Received:
    180
    Could you give us the exact make and model of your video card?
     
  5. richpikl

    richpikl New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    The card is made by Sapphire. It is based on the ATI Radeon X1650 chip. One other piece of information that may or may not be relevant is if I pin the shortcut to the Taskbar, the icon displays properly. Also, I used the Update Device Driver in Device Manager to get the latest driver. This one is puzzling me.

    Thank you for your help
     
  6. reghakr

    reghakr Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    14,220
    Likes Received:
    180
    Try shutting down and restart in Safe Mode and see if they still display that way.

    Now start normally and see if it;s corrected.
     
  7. richpikl

    richpikl New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Safe mode didn't work. However, in safe mode, because of the resolution, the icons were bigger and I got a better look at the picture that is obscuring the icon. It's a blank document with the upper right corner folded over. On the document is a Window with 3 icons on it. If you have any pull with Microsoft perhaps you can ask them about it. My support isn't free and I'll be damned if I'm going to pay them $49 to look at this. More info. I've installed Activesync for my smartphone and it has the same problem. However, it seems to be only program or internet shortcuts. Word, excel and pdf documents appear fine just like the My Computer, Recycle BIn and Control panel.

    I really appreciate you taking a look at this. I wish Microsoft would be as interested with some free support for their operating system.
     
  8. tblount

    tblount New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,537
    Likes Received:
    64
    Try this first... Click Start and type "hide" and look at the options for hiding and unhiding icons on desktop.
     
  9. richpikl

    richpikl New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi and thanks for all your help.

    tblount - Hiding and unhiding didn't help.

    Drew - Understand what you are saying. However, I ran the Windows 7 Upgrade Advisor before upgrading and it tells me that:

    Radeon X1650 Series and Radeon X1650 Series Secondary both are compatible with Windows 7.

    Microsoft wouldn't lie to me, would they? (wink, wink). Of course, being compatible isn't quite the same as being supported by Windows 7.

    Drew, my card is AGP. Was yours and if so, what card did you buy to replace your X1600?

    Thanks again for your help. As I said before, I've pinned most of my shortcuts to the task bar and they look and work fine. If this is my solution, it's certainly one I can live with until I can afford a new PC.
     
  10. stueycaster

    stueycaster Millennium Celebration Award Winner
    Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,519
    Likes Received:
    53
    My Radeon x1650 video card displays desktop icons just fine. In fact I have no display problems at all. The drivers came from Windows Update.
     
  11. richpikl

    richpikl New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi drew,

    I think I mentioned this earlier. My X1650 is made by Sapphire. It is listed as compatible on the Windows 7 Hardware Compatibility list. I've sent a support request to Sapphire and they will investigate. Of course, the tech who replied to me said he never saw anything like it. I'll see what they say. before I decide on a new card.

    For anyone else with the problem, pinning the icons to the task bar works very well and this is how I'll resolve the issue if sapphire says they can't help.

    This is my main computer which I built a few years ago. I upgraded to the X1650 last year to help with gaming and it is fine for that. I hate to sink anothe 1-2 hundred in a new video card since everything else is working fine. It's just the damn icons and it's more annoying than troublesome.

    One of the other posts on this issue mentions a 'failed image' icon. Googling doesn't provide much on this. I'm a stubborn guy so I think there should be an answer some where.

    thanks for all your help.
     
  12. stueycaster

    stueycaster Millennium Celebration Award Winner
    Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,519
    Likes Received:
    53
  13. richpikl

    richpikl New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the suggestion. SFC came up empty so I guess that's good and bad news. Bad in that I still am trying to hunt this one down. Good that my system integrity is OK.
     
  14. richpikl

    richpikl New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Latest Status:

    I upgraded my video card to an ASUS HD 4650 AGP card and also a new Dell 22" Wide Screen LCD Monitor. However, the icon issue is still present although the obscured icons and everything else is crystal clear on the new monitor.

    I can't help but think that this is due to an incorrect or corrupt registry setting. That's just a hunch on my part trying to resolve an annoying problem for me.

    Thanks for all your input.
     
  15. reghakr

    reghakr Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    14,220
    Likes Received:
    180
    An AGP card, the computer must be pretty old, correct?

    The graphics card is good and I'm sire you love the 22" widescreen

    Could you provide a screen shotr?
     
  16. Trouble

    Trouble Noob Whisperer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    13,845
    Likes Received:
    833
    Not sure if this will help but have you tried rebuilding the icon cache...you can google it or perhaps look here How to Rebuild the Icon Cache in Windows Vista and Windows 7 - The Winhelponline Blog
    It sounds more like you've used one of several applications or scripts available online to remove the shortcut arrows from desktop icons....there is some that work and some that don't, if you think that may be what has happened let me know and I will try to get you a link to one that I know works (will get rid of them and or put them back) need to know which version of Win7 (64 or 32 bit)...not sure how this would have happened with a new install, but hey, anythings possible.
     
  17. Trouble

    Trouble Noob Whisperer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    13,845
    Likes Received:
    833
    See Attachment....If this is what you're talking about, then it's a corrupt registry entry and there's something out there that will fix it....let me know, if we are talking about the same thing.
     
  18. reghakr

    reghakr Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    14,220
    Likes Received:
    180
    Nice desktop Trouble..............beautiful:)
     
  19. Trouble

    Trouble Noob Whisperer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    13,845
    Likes Received:
    833
    Thanks...I can't take any credit for it, it's a picture that I found somewhere on line. Just thought I needed something to remind me "Tis the Season"
     
  20. richpikl

    richpikl New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well, finally success and the last poster was right in the ballpark. My issue was that something in my system (probably the registry) was unable to display the proper shortcut arrow on my desktop icons. Where it got the graphic that was displayed was beyond me since my in place upgrade wasn't a Vista to Win 7 but XP pro to Win 7 using Laplink PC Mover.

    The solution was the Vista Shortcut Manager which you can get if you google it. While designed for Vista, it worked like a charm in Win 7. One of the options is to not display the shortcut arrow and this option fixed my desktop. TweakUI was the XP tool for doing this.

    So, anyone with a similar issue should try the Vista Manager and you should have the same results as me. I'm a very happy camper and I want to thank all of you who took the time to help me with your suggestions.
     

Share This Page

Loading...