DESPERATE NEED OF HELP

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Installation' started by frenchie85, Dec 17, 2010.

  1. frenchie85

    frenchie85 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    OK, I'm new on here, and would appreciate the help. I Have a brand new computer.
    Asus M4N68T-M V2 Motherboard
    AMD Phenom II X4 955 processor
    4 Gig RAM
    Clean 500 gig SATA HDD
    nVidia GTS 450

    So now i'm trying to install Windows 7, and I now get through the first step and i get stuck on a screen asking to install device drivers. I tried to re-burn 3 different versions of Windows, with 8 different DVD's. I tried removing 2 gigs of ram. I've tried different DVD drives, i've flashed the most recent drivers of the BIOS. I am exhausted by this for it has been going on for a week now. Can someone PLEASE help me?
     
  2. TorrentG

    TorrentG Banned

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Messages:
    7,814
    Likes Received:
    372
    Welcome.

    Go in the bios and Load The Optimized Defaults. Save. After, make sure that Plug and Play OS is set to yes. ASUS is notorious for having this set to no or off, by default, and this would cause major issues.

    If you still have problems, let me know. I'll show you what to do next.
     
  3. frenchie85

    frenchie85 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok, i'm in the BIOS now, how do i load Optimized Defaults. Sorry, i am still a little wet behind the ears.
     
  4. TorrentG

    TorrentG Banned

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Messages:
    7,814
    Likes Received:
    372
    It should be on the first page of the bios settings. If not, there definitely will be some type of Default setting to set, which will make the whole bios well.

    But then, check on that Plug and Play OS setting too, which is very important for it to be set to yes.
     
  5. frenchie85

    frenchie85 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok, found it... And loaded it. And i also did the Plug and Play to yes.... Its did the same thing again...
     
  6. Saltgrass

    Saltgrass Excellent Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    15,157
    Likes Received:
    393
    Are you running external devices? Are you running a RAID setup? Are upgrading over another OS?
     

Share This Page

Loading...