"Display driver has crashed and recovered"?

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Graphics' started by exceptation, Jul 10, 2012.

  1. exceptation

    exceptation New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,
    Whenever I play any sort of game, whether Hon/LoL/Minecraft, my screen always freezes for about 10-15 seconds and then works again, and I get the "Display driver has stopped working and has recovered" error. This seems to happen at random intervals; sometimes it'll happen once or twice every hour. More recently, it's been crashing at LEAST 4 times every hour. Sometimes my screen freezes then just BSOD's.

    Here I've attached my DMP files as well as snippings of CPU-Z. Please help! :( CPU.PNG Mainboard.PNG memory.PNG slot 2.PNG slot 4.PNG
     

    Attached Files:

  2. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,838
    Likes Received:
    1,568
    Couldn't see your dmp files but try the app found here SIV - System Information Viewer and see what your temperature is for the GPU. It does sound like you have a possible overheating problem..
     
  3. exceptation

    exceptation New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    It says 30 degrees! SIVx.PNG
     
  4. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,838
    Likes Received:
    1,568
    Is that temp at idle? What about when gaming? Start a game and see if you can alt-tab back to the desktop and check the temp.
     
  5. exceptation

    exceptation New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Okay I started up Minecraft and now my GPU temp is cruising at 39-40...

    Edit: My display driver stopped working again but when i checked the GPU temp it was only at 33
     
    #5 exceptation, Jul 10, 2012
    Last edited: Jul 10, 2012
  6. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,838
    Likes Received:
    1,568
    #6 kemical, Jul 10, 2012
    Last edited: Jul 10, 2012
  7. exceptation

    exceptation New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sorry but could you specify what you mean by which driver I am using? My video card drivers are all up to date.

    -I just updated my BIOS driver to the latest one.
     

    Attached Files:

    #7 exceptation, Jul 10, 2012
    Last edited: Jul 10, 2012
  8. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,838
    Likes Received:
    1,568
    Ok if your using the latest driver then fine. I checked your dmp file and it seems Aeria ignite is the cause of your issues. Either try updating to the latest version or re-installing. http://www.aeriagames.com/playnow/ignite
     
  9. exceptation

    exceptation New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hmm okay so I just uninstalled Aeria ignite and tried playing Minecraft again, but after around 5 minutes the same error occurred :(

    Driver Display Error.PNG
     
  10. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,838
    Likes Received:
    1,568
    Well that's ok as it's a process of elimination at times. Your dump file was also showing an error message for your RAM but was hoping it was the above app causing this. You need to test that your RAM is ok. Download this app Memtest86+ - Advanced Memory Diagnostic Tool and run it on one stick at a time. This will ensure you know for sure which stick has errored out.
     
  11. exceptation

    exceptation New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ermm sorry, I'm not too sure if I conducted the test properly or even at all.. here's what my screen showed though.
    photo.
     
  12. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,838
    Likes Received:
    1,568
    Hey it's ok.. We all have to learn somewhere. The screen looks fine as in you've got it running ok. Now I'd run the programme on each individual stick at a time. This means you'll have to manually extract the others. Leave the test running for around an hour each stick. Some say longer, some say shorter, I just keep it to an hour and it's usually fine. May I also ask that if you have any other dmp files to please post. Just one doesn't always give a clear picture as to what might be going on..
     
  13. exceptation

    exceptation New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    photo.

    Well I figured out how to use memtest haha.. here are my results.
    Lots of errors... Do you have any tips for manually extracting the other ram stick?
     
  14. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,838
    Likes Received:
    1,568
    Hi,

    Ouch! Did you test just one stick or all together? If you tested all together then you will need to test individually so you know which stick is the culprit. This video from Youtube will show you how to upgrade and replace RAM:

     
    #14 kemical, Jul 18, 2012
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 26, 2013
  15. exceptation

    exceptation New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Okay I tested each stick individually on both ports. Individually, there were no errors at all. However, I tested both simultaneously and got 24 errors.
    photo 1.
    Above is a picture of my 4 ram slots, and 2 are filled. When tested separately there were no errors whatsoever.
    However, when I tested both, I got the scene below.
    photo 2.
     
  16. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,838
    Likes Received:
    1,568
    How long did you leave them running individually? You have got to run them for longer for at least 7/8 passes if possible.
     
  17. exceptation

    exceptation New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    I actually only left them running for 2-3 passes. I'll run it again. The strange thing is, I took one of the ram sticks out and played games for 8 hours straight last night and I didn't get ANY errors whatsoever nor any BSODs. Any ideas on what might cause this?
     
  18. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,838
    Likes Received:
    1,568
    It could be that one of the actual slots are bad or it's the other stick which is the culprit. Try swapping around and trying the same thing.
     
  19. exceptation

    exceptation New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Okay I tested BOTH sticks individually for 8-9 passes each and I got NO errors. :(
     
  20. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,838
    Likes Received:
    1,568
    Just to ask, did you test in different slots?
     

Share This Page

Loading...