DNS Server not responding

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Help and Support' started by Colton Heaney, Oct 8, 2012.

  1. Colton Heaney

    Colton Heaney New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2012
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello Im having trouble with my internet it says

    Your computer is working fine but the (DNS server) Is no responding

    Can anyone help me please



    This is my Ipconfig /all





    C:\Users\Owner>ipconfig /all


    Windows IP Configuration


    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Owner-PC
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcast
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No


    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:


    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Atheros AR5B93 Wireless Network Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 70-1A-04-E2-F6-98
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::208d:dd0e:5072:7cd0%11(Preferred)
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.12(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : October-08-12 10:09:42 PM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : October-15-12 10:19:25 PM
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 309336580
    DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-13-4E-62-34-00-26-2D-7F-60-C4


    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 64.71.255.198
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled


    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:


    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcom NetLink (TM) Gigabit Ethernet
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-26-2D-7F-60-C4
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes


    Tunnel adapter isatap.{F176976F-48F2-477D-B5D0-93D3332D2D53}:


    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #2
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes


    Tunnel adapter Reusable ISATAP Interface {4E07F174-85B1-463E-9A90-23810433AD19}:




    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #3
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes


    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 23:


    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:0:4137:9e76:a1:f6:3f57:fff3(Preferre
    d)
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::a1:f6:3f57:fff3%29(Preferred)
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : ::
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled
     
    #1 Colton Heaney, Oct 8, 2012
    Last edited: Oct 8, 2012
  2. MikeHawthorne

    MikeHawthorne Essential Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    May 25, 2009
    Messages:
    6,051
    Likes Received:
    302
    Hi

    I'd start by recycling your modem, or router.

    Shut down your computer, unplug your router from the wall, power connection (you can just turn it off if it has a switch).
    Let it set for 5 minutes and plug it back in.

    Then boot up your computer and see if it's fixed.

    Mike
     
  3. patcooke

    patcooke Microsoft MVP
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    5,455
    Likes Received:
    268
    Your DNS server address is set to an external IP address - either change it to get DNS server settings automatically or, if that doesn't work, change the DNS server address manually to 192.168.0.1
     
    Hana likes this.
  4. Colton Heaney

    Colton Heaney New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2012
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0


    I think its working now but if it was to stop working for any random reason , would i put that ip in Preffered or alternate? or both?
     
  5. patcooke

    patcooke Microsoft MVP
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    5,455
    Likes Received:
    268
    DNS is the server which receives the domain name which you are trying to access (as in the browser address bar), looks it up and converts it to an IP address to then access it. There are many DNS servers and you can access them by using their address directly. However, when you are using a router it will typically have it's own information about the address of the Domain Name Server so instead of your pc having to know the DNS address it is usually best to set the DNS lookup to the address of your router, the router will then pass your DNS request on to the DNS lookup address which it has. If all that makes sense then it explains why you should use the IP address of your router which is also the default gateway address and the DHCP address. If I've explained it badly the the simple fact is that setting the DNS address to be obtained automatically should lead to the router setting it to its own address or you should set it yourself manually. You should certainly set the preferred address, the alternative address is not important in normal use.
     
  6. Colton Heaney

    Colton Heaney New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2012
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok thanks, after i do these changes do i restart my computer?
     
  7. patcooke

    patcooke Microsoft MVP
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    5,455
    Likes Received:
    268
    Depends on the state of things - simple answer is to restart.
     
  8. Pauli

    Pauli Extraordinary Member
    Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2012
    Messages:
    2,499
    Likes Received:
    211
    I've done the janitor job for several years, and we've had this DNS problem "now and then, allover", with two service providers. The result from several inquires to Service Providers was "a lot of questions of what WE have done".

    1. Reboot your Internet - unplug and replug

    2. The final problem lies with your Service Provider - there's a link further out that doesn't work. How you can work it out, I do not know.
     
    #8 Pauli, Oct 10, 2012
    Last edited: Oct 12, 2012
  9. MikeHawthorne

    MikeHawthorne Essential Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    May 25, 2009
    Messages:
    6,051
    Likes Received:
    302
    Hi

    To set the DNS server to automatic you have to access Lan Settings.
    In Google Chrome you do this by going to...

    Options

    Under the Hood

    Network

    Change Proxy Settings

    Lan Settings, at the bottom of the screen.

    Click the Automatically detect settings box.

    I don't know what browser you are using but it will be something like that.

    Mike
     
  10. Colton Heaney

    Colton Heaney New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2012
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    I Started To Get that DNS server again... Do you want me to show you my ipconfig /all ?
     
  11. patcooke

    patcooke Microsoft MVP
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    5,455
    Likes Received:
    268
    That's the best place to start.
     
  12. Hana

    Hana Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2015
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    hi patcooke.. you might realized i replied to a comment of yours before on other forum regarding my DNS problems.. then i looked up in other forum again, and come across this reply of yours and tried it... it turns out to be working now.. no more auto disconnected from the internet server.. no more having to relogin in the to the internet.. but i dont know how long it would remain ok.. so if i had the problem again (hopefully i wont), please help me
     
  13. patcooke

    patcooke Microsoft MVP
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    5,455
    Likes Received:
    268
    Sounds good, glad it's sorted.
     

Share This Page

Loading...