Do you know what Socket the AMD Turion64 X2 has?

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Hardware' started by nukenate, Jan 30, 2009.

  1. nukenate

    nukenate New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well, I know the anwser to that. "S1", or so I think what that is.

    What I realy want to know is what is the S1 compatible with?

    Socket 754?
    Socket 370?

    Or is it just "S1"?
     
  2. loathe

    loathe New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,718
    Likes Received:
    66
    Didnt the S1 replace the 754 socket? I think its 754 for single core Turion and S1 for dual core. I dont think they work the other way
     
  3. Kyle

    Kyle New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Messages:
    1,634
    Likes Received:
    53
    It's 638 pin.
    It's a sempron/turion socket, used only in laptops.

    Are you asking 'cause you're looking to switch out your processor?
    If so, some bad news; most laptop CPUs are soldered to the motherboard.
     
  4. nukenate

    nukenate New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Naw, my laptop screen has been rendered unusable and repairs would cost too much.
    So we are replacing it.

    I'll be gutting my laptop and plan to use it as a "Mobile Desktop".

    She's already pretty thin. An inch, it is a laptop after all. I figured I could deal with some extra inches and cough up some dough and give her a new heat sink.

    Thanks, I'll TRY to find something...

    Oh, and I did find out that it was a 638 pin CPU, I just wans't sure if that's how they classified the CPU.

    That must be what those other numbers meant then.
     
  5. nukenate

    nukenate New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Wait, why would the socket have anything to do with it?

    Couldn't I just get a heat sink with the screws "X cm" away from each other?
     

Share This Page

Loading...