Does Windows 7 support fire wire?

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Help and Support' started by bamagull, Nov 4, 2009.

  1. bamagull

    bamagull New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2009
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Here is my predicament. I have a LaCie 160G Porsche external hard drive that was formatted for a Mac (my daughter used it for a collage class I don’t own a Mac or have access to one). What I want to do is reformat it so I can use it on my PC. I have tried to use UBUNTU to try and format it but it does not see the drive. I have also plugged it into my PC and Windows7 does not see it or say anything about new hardware.
    What I think maybe the problem is that Windows 7 does not see the fire wire correctly. When I go to device manager it shows up there with no error symbols. Any suggestions? I just want to get some use out of the drive besides a dust collector or paperweight. Don’t suggest use it for a boat anchor, not heavy enough.
     
  2. bamagull

    bamagull New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2009
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    any ideas?
     
  3. Saltgrass

    Saltgrass Excellent Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    15,157
    Likes Received:
    393
  4. bamagull

    bamagull New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2009
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
  5. Saltgrass

    Saltgrass Excellent Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    15,157
    Likes Received:
    393
    If my link to Iomega does not work correctly, click on the Format Drive on the bottom and look for the section about formatting a MAC formatted drive to NTFS on a PC
     
  6. bamagull

    bamagull New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2009
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    I was able to remove the drive from the case. Not at all hard to do. What I found inside was a Western Digital hard drive. I guess lacie only makes the cases. I will have to go buy a cable and try to format it now.
     
  7. Saltgrass

    Saltgrass Excellent Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    15,157
    Likes Received:
    393
    Did you ever try the procedure on the iomega page for reformatting the drive?
     
  8. bamagull

    bamagull New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2009
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    I never could get it to vene show the drive. Still waiting to get a cable. I will try it once i get the IDE cable.
     
  9. bamagull

    bamagull New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2009
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    I got the IDE cable, installed the drive. Then booted into windows 7 and it actually saw thew files on the drive, even though the drive was formatted for a Mac. I then reformatted the drive and now all is well. I now have 160g drive for backup.
     

Share This Page

Loading...