Drive C showing red color.

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Help and Support' started by retheesh4u, Jun 24, 2011.

  1. retheesh4u

    retheesh4u New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    In My computer C Drive is showing red color. But there is enough free space. Please find the attachment. error.
     
  2. Super Sarge

    Super Sarge New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,737
    Likes Received:
    64
    You Only have 34 Gig HD OMG
    I would suggest you put a bigger hard drive in such as a 500 gig at Minimum preferably a 1.0 TB then just clone your system to the new drive
     
  3. patcooke

    patcooke Microsoft MVP
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    5,456
    Likes Received:
    268
    I suspect the 3 drives are just partitions - if that is the case then use something like easeus (free) partition manager to reduce the size of drive D (by at least 20GB) and assign it to drive C. Also, whether a separate drive or not - I'd start sing drive D for some data storage - drive C does not need to be using anywhere near that much space.

    http://www.partition-tool.com/personal.htm
     
    #3 patcooke, Jun 24, 2011
    Last edited: Jun 24, 2011
  4. Super Sarge

    Super Sarge New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,737
    Likes Received:
    64
    Even if it is one drive partitioned. I still would at least a bigger drive minimum of 500 gig, and clone the old drive
     
  5. MikeHawthorne

    MikeHawthorne Essential Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    May 25, 2009
    Messages:
    6,051
    Likes Received:
    302
    Hi

    It looks like you have a 200 gig hard drive partitioned into 3 drives.
    The size of the C:\ drive is far too small.
    I'm guessing that the drive is almost full with just Windows 7 installed

    You can go through all the work of re-partitioning it, or as Sarge says just buy a 500 Gig drive and either start over and re-install or transfer your old drive to it.

    Unless you have an external drive it is probably easier to just back up you data on DVDs and start over.

    Mike
     

Share This Page

Loading...