Driver Software Installation

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Help and Support' started by mutantsixtyfour, Sep 11, 2009.

  1. mutantsixtyfour

    mutantsixtyfour New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi guys,

    I seem to have this annoying problem where the window that notifies Windows is downloading and installing drivers for new hardware pops up on my secondary monitor. My secondary monitor however is not a secondary monitor in the sense that it sits on my desktop, but it's a TV for mediacenter purpose.

    [​IMG]

    It's that one. :)

    I realize it only pops up the first time you plug in a device but I use new devices quite frequently and wish to force this pop-up to pop up on my primary monitor.

    Thanks,

    M64.
     
  2. mutantsixtyfour

    mutantsixtyfour New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
  3. Tepid

    Tepid New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,344
    Likes Received:
    38
    Well,, this is most likely a driver issue. Or a configuration issue.

    Which video card and driver are you using?
    I have a similar setup, but don't have this problem.

    The only real option may be to disable dual monitor (cloning or extended views) when not using it.
     
  4. mutantsixtyfour

    mutantsixtyfour New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi Tepid,

    I'm using a 8800GT with the latest drivers. I've tried uninstalling all my Nvidia drivers, use driver cleaner and cc cleaner, and then reinstalled it, but all without luck..

    I am using extended views.

    What "configuration issue" could it be?
     
  5. Tepid

    Tepid New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,344
    Likes Received:
    38
    I will need to check at home, But, in the Nvidia GPU Properties settings window
    There should be somewhere to configure Nview, i think. Check that.

    Although, I think the easier thing is to disable multiple monitors when you are not using it.
     
  6. mutantsixtyfour

    mutantsixtyfour New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Can't find Nview. :( I could find define custom view but that had nothing useful for me.
     
  7. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,829
    Likes Received:
    1,565
    Hi mutant,
    if you check my screenshot...

    I know your using an nvidia card but if I remember correctly isn't somewhere like in my screenshot where you can dedicate which monitor is the primary?
     
  8. mutantsixtyfour

    mutantsixtyfour New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi there Kemical.

    I think there seems to be a misunderstanding. I know where to set my primary monitor and I have set the correct one as primary. It's just that one annoying pop-up that decides to show itself on the secondary monitor instead.
     
  9. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,829
    Likes Received:
    1,565
    Sorry 'bout that I reread your post and saw you'd written about primary ect... I tried googling without much success although this multimonitor FAQ may have clues?? Multi-Monitor FAQ
     
  10. RAK

    RAK Extraordinary Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,502
    Likes Received:
    126
    I'm not sure how it would work with your devices, but in my notification options, I have the device installation feature set to hide?


    View attachment 2160
     
    #10 RAK, Sep 14, 2009
    Last edited: Sep 20, 2009
  11. mutantsixtyfour

    mutantsixtyfour New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thing is, I don't care much about the notification icon, it's the window that is annoying me. If I have to disable my secondary monitor or power it on ONLY for one pop-up it's pretty tedious. Not the biggest problem but sure you understand it's annoying.

    Man, this might sound silly but I wish more people had/reported this issue, perhaps then it would be easier to solve it.
     
  12. mutantsixtyfour

    mutantsixtyfour New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    I read through the entire FAQ but there are no clues as to what the issue might be or how to resolve it.

    Thank you for the tip though, much appreciated.
     
  13. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,829
    Likes Received:
    1,565
    I guess it's finding the correct 'keyword' to use in a google search... I'll keep looking..
     
  14. mutantsixtyfour

    mutantsixtyfour New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    I take it no one has any luck. I didn't either. :(

    Guess I'm stuck with the disable secondary monitor method.
     

Share This Page

Loading...