Dual boot from 2 different HDDs

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Help and Support' started by Daniele Greguol, Dec 28, 2012.

  1. Daniele Greguol

    Daniele Greguol New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi all,
    I'm new around here so, if you've seen this before, please bear with me.
    I have a computer with 3 hard disks in it as follows:
    - Patriot Pyro 120 GB on Windows 7 Ultimate x64 (installed first)
    - WD Velociraptor 450 GB on Windows 8 Pro x64 (installed second)
    - Samsung something 2 TB storage (forget about this one)
    The 2 operating systems are completely independent and functioning properly; obviously, the SSD (Pyro) is set to boot first in the bios and, at start-up, there's no boot manager asking me which OS I intend to use. Basically, every time I want to logon on my Velociraptor with Windows 8 I have to press F8 at start-up and choose from the given list of bootable HDDs.
    Now, I've tried EasyBCD without luck and I've read somewhere that, apparently, the Windows 7 boot manager can't boot a Windows 8 partition so, my question is, is there a way to add my Windows 8 Velociraptor to the boot manager of the first booting HDD, i.e the SSD with Windows 7?
    Thank you in advance for your support.
    Daniel
     
  2. tbint

    tbint Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2010
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    0
    it really will not work because windows recognizes the O/S as c:/.

    run: msconfig select the boot tab. If you we're to ad win 8 to the MBR it would loop back to win 7. Plus you still would have to hit F8 or one of those keys can't remember. You may be able to set the bios to enter the boot menu every time. I think most pc have F9 to enter boot menu these days.
     
  3. patcooke

    patcooke Microsoft MVP
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    5,456
    Likes Received:
    268
    Run sysdm.cpl, under startup and recovery click on settings. Select "earlier version of windows" as default op sys, chain back out and reboot.
     
  4. Saltgrass

    Saltgrass Excellent Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    15,157
    Likes Received:
    393
  5. Daniele Greguol

    Daniele Greguol New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've yet to try anything but I'll let you know as soon as I have done. In the meantime, thank you for taking the time to reply to my thread. Daniel
     

Share This Page

Loading...