dual boot with vista

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Installation' started by jdwing, Jun 8, 2009.

  1. jdwing

    jdwing New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    2
    Hi

    I have a new computer system that had no OS and have installed windows 7 rc on it and it is running fine.Can I install vista on a new partion with out removing windows 7 ?

    thanks

    Jdwing
     
  2. kevin from Chi-town

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    714
    Likes Received:
    8
    Most of the people in here had installed Vista first, and second was win 7 with limited issues. I did this with my 64 bit Vista and 64 bit win 7 and have no issues. One perk was that it recognized drivers through the Vista partition.
     
  3. jdwing

    jdwing New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    2
    dual boot

    Hi

    Thanks for your info.
    When I got my new computer I had no OS installed, I was waiting for Microsoft to send the 64 bit upgrade for my retail vista premium that I had just purchased. So I installed Windows 7 RC and all my other software from my old computer.
    Now I have the 64 bit disc of Vista, could I just install it on its own part ion then I can dual boot with vista.
    I don't want to do a clean installation with vista and then re install Windows 7 RC, unless I have no choice.

    thanks

    Jdwing
     
  4. Radenight

    Radenight New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    Messages:
    4,525
    Likes Received:
    108
    You might have to reinstall Windows 7.. When setting up a dual boot system you have to install the OS's from old to new.. Meaning Vista first than Windows 7.. ;) You COULD install Vista without reinstalling 7 but you'll end up spending more time than you want to trying to sort out the Boot Manager afterwards... ;)
     
  5. rsvr85

    rsvr85 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2009
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    2
  6. jdwing

    jdwing New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    2
    Thanks for your reply

    I am just going to reinstall vista then windows 7

    thanks
     
    rsvr85 and (deleted member) like this.
  7. rsvr85

    rsvr85 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2009
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    2
    If that's your intention, why don't you just try installing Vista from 7, at least you'll know if your setup will do it for next time!!
     
  8. nbkp

    nbkp New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2009
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    1
    It is possible. I had Win7 installed first and managed to get Vista installed normally. Just go through the same process for the instruction for making a partition on Vista
     
    1 person likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...