Dual Monitors for windows 7 - Laptop to TV

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Help and Support' started by jamezp1, Jan 4, 2009.

  1. jamezp1

    jamezp1 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,

    I have windows 7 build 6956 running on a fujitsu siemens amilo l7320g and i am trying to set up a second monitor via my tv. This has worked before on windows xp and vista but 7 refuses to acknowledge my tv. I've pressed the button at changes the display (in this case fn + f4) when th monitor is off and it turns on, but then displays no signal. I have not installed any new drivers as when i tried to the correct drivers would not install on 7.

    Thanks for any help in advance,

    James
     
  2. Radenight

    Radenight New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    Messages:
    4,525
    Likes Received:
    108
    My suggestion would be to get the Beta once it's released to the general public and try your luck with that.. ;) Build 6956 would most likely have more bugs in it then the Beta.. The Beta could work better for what your trying to do.
     
  3. iroken22

    iroken22 Extraordinary Member
    Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    1,649
    Likes Received:
    49
    Try using the (Windows + P) combo i have had to do that every time because windows 7 does not detect my external monitors automatically.
     
  4. jamezp1

    jamezp1 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks guys, i tried (control + p) but this does nothing on my machine, i guess i'll have to be patient and wait for a newer version, cheers anyway!
     
  5. Jammiedodger546

    Jammiedodger546 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2008
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    4
    Im using my TV fine with 7. I used Fn and F8 to choose which to use... Dunno about doing that for dual monitors but it might work
     
  6. iroken22

    iroken22 Extraordinary Member
    Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    1,649
    Likes Received:
    49
    For the record it is not(Ctrl + P) it is ( Win + P). Make sure you didn't do the wrong thing. I have had no problems hooking up my computer to the second monitor so other than this i would say wait for a compatible driver for windows 7 to emerge.
     
  7. mynk

    mynk New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    speaking of driver compatibility, another thing you can do is maybe find in installation of a driver from the TV manufacturer's site or as such, an exe, and then run it in compatibility mode. the driver/app installed to support said tv will support said tv in a vista manner

    edit.. or change the driver for the external vga display to standard vga instead of general PnP.
    btw.. does your windows even detect the fact that something has been plugged in when you connect to tv?
     
  8. phillip

    phillip New Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0

Share This Page

Loading...