Enable Telnet?

Discussion in 'Windows 8 Help and Support' started by demenstruated, Jul 3, 2013.

  1. demenstruated

    demenstruated New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    plz how to i use telnet? when i try it says

    'telnet' is not recognized as an internal or external command,
    operable program or batch file.

    thx
     
  2. ginovat

    ginovat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2013
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    4
  3. Clintre

    Clintre New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
  4. mirecek1965

    mirecek1965 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2006
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    1
    Install putty, its freeware :)
     
    Mike likes this.
  5. Nilanka Abeysinghe

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
  6. Josephur

    Josephur Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,019
    Likes Received:
    125
    You can also enable the feature using an Administrative command prompt, useful for keeping a script around to easily add features needed on the fly.

    For example here is how to enable Telnet:

    Code:
    dism /online /Enable-Feature /FeatureName:TelnetClient
    
    Deployment Image Servicing and Management tool
    Version: 6.3.9600.16384
    
    Image Version: 6.3.9600.16384
    
    Enabling feature(s)
    [==========================100.0%==========================]
    The operation completed successfully.
    
    To see the names of features to be able to script others, issue the "dism /online /get-features" command.
     

Share This Page

Loading...