Explorer Restarting

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Installation' started by busydog, Aug 24, 2009.

  1. busydog

    busydog New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,056
    Likes Received:
    31
    On two separate RTM installations, if I right-click on icons often enough (no set number of times) during the course of a session, I get the error message that explorer is restarting. It doesn't usually affect what is running but it is a pain to see the icons disappear and reappear. Is anyone else having this problem and have you found a solution.:confused:
     
  2. jeradw

    jeradw Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2009
    Messages:
    474
    Likes Received:
    6
    Does it seem to be isolated to the icons on the desktop, in explorer on the c:\ drive, icons in the control panel, or is it random? I was going to test it out but I don't have icons on my desktop...
     
  3. busydog

    busydog New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,056
    Likes Received:
    31
    It is totally limited to the icons on the desktop.
     
  4. RAK

    RAK Extraordinary Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,502
    Likes Received:
    126
    I have 6 icons on my desktop, both on 33 and 64BIT. I'vee just tried clicking them (up to about ten times each) but had no problems.
     
  5. Fluke

    Fluke New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,

    Don't suppose you found a solution to this did you, as I have exactly the same problem. The explorer process seems to crash and reset entirely at random. Sometimes I can go for hours without it happening, yet sometimes it will happen within minutes of booting the machine.
     
  6. gavin19

    gavin19 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2009
    Messages:
    442
    Likes Received:
    11
    It's likely a 'bad' context menu handler that's to blame.

    Download ShellExView for 32 or 64bit and run it. There is an article on that page too which should give you the help you need. It's a good thing that's it's happening on two separate installations because then you can narrow it down to the apps that were installed on both instances.

    Hope this helps. Good luck!
     
    #6 gavin19, Sep 11, 2009
    Last edited: Sep 11, 2009

Share This Page

Loading...