Extended Desktop for dual monitors on Win7?

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Hardware' started by thebg, Feb 5, 2011.

  1. thebg

    thebg New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trying to get my dual monitor extended desktop happening in Win 7, but it won't recognize the 2nd monitor. I just get a clone of monitor 1 with no option to extend it.

    It worked perfectly in XP and I just upgraded to Win 7.

    I have a ASUS P6TD Delux motherboard

    and a ASUS ATI based card with DVI, VGa, HDMI video card.

    Any tips on drivers? It says they're all up to date.
     
  2. Trouble

    Trouble Noob Whisperer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    13,845
    Likes Received:
    833
    thebg:
    Hello and welcome to the forums.
    You probably need to include the exact Model ATI card you are using along with what ATI driver you are currently using and I'm reasonably sure one of our resident Graphics Gurus will be able to get you onto the right path to a solution. Lot of ATI users here so give us as much detail as possible regarding the hardware including monitors and hang in there.
     
  3. thebg

    thebg New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for responding. Here's the system I just built:

    Computer:
    Processor Intel i7 3.06 ghz QUAD
    Newegg.com - Intel Core i7-950 Bloomfield 3.06GHz 4 x 256KB L2 Cache 8MB L3 Cache LGA 1366 130W Quad-Core Processor BX80601950
    Motherboard: ASUS P6TD Delux
    Newegg.com - ASUS P6TD Deluxe LGA 1366 Intel X58 ATX Intel Motherboard
    Memory: 6gigs Triple Channel
    Newegg.com - CORSAIR DOMINATOR 6GB (3 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) Desktop Memory Model CMP6GX3M3A1600C8
    System Hard Drive: Segate 1.5 Tb
    Newegg.com - Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 ST31500341AS 1.5TB 7200 RPM 32MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive -Bare Drive
    Audio Hard Drive: WD VelociRaptor 300gb 10000 RPM drive
    Newegg.com - Western Digital VelociRaptor WD3000HLFS 300GB 10000 RPM 16MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive -Bare Drive
    CD/DVD burner:
    Newegg.com - Sony Optiarc Black 24X DVD+R 8X DVD+RW 12X DVD+R DL 24X DVD-R 6X DVD-RW 12X DVD-RAM 16X DVD-ROM 48X CD-R 32X CD-RW 48X CD-ROM 2MB Cache SATA CD/DVD Burner - CD / DVD Burners
    Power Supply: Antec 750 watt
    Newegg.com - Antec EarthWatts EA750 750W Continuous Power ATX12V version 2.3 SLI Certified CrossFire Ready 80 PLUS Certified Active PFC "compatible with Core i7/Core i5" Power Supply
    Video Card: ASUS ATI based card with DVI, VGa, HDMI
    Newegg.com - ASUS EAH5450 SILENT/DI/1GD3(LP) Radeon HD 5450 1GB 64-bit DDR3 PCI Express 2.1 x16 HDCP Ready Low Profile Ready Video Card

    Monitors are 2 AOC 20 inch flat screens-- about 2 and a half years old.

    Video driver is: Microsoft Generic PNP monitor version: 6.1.7600.16385(win7_rtm.090713-1255)

    Hope this helps.

    BG
     
  4. cybercore

    cybercore New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Messages:
    15,823
    Likes Received:
    321
    We take it you upgraded XP to 7 by doing clean install, right?

    1. Are the monitors the same model?
    2. Are the monitor drivers installed?
    3. Does ATI Catalyst detect both monitors?
    4. Try UltraMon to see if the issue persists.
     
  5. thebg

    thebg New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Monitors are the same model : AOC 2019sw1

    don't think the drivers are installed. Just plugged them in on XP a couple of years ago and they worked. Looked for the new drivers, but I don't see this exact model listed.

    ATI Catalyst detects only one monitor, but it shows up on both screens.

    Ultramon doesn't seem to have done anything to help.

    BG
     

Share This Page

Loading...