FF 4 Sucks so far

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Software' started by Super Sarge, Mar 22, 2011.

  1. Super Sarge

    Super Sarge New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,737
    Likes Received:
    64
    The back button does not work, I have set my machine to go to multiple home pages, but it does not I always have to hit the home button, when going to another page the current page does not show in address bar. Is there a way I can go back to the latest 3.xxx version?
     
  2. Joe S

    Joe S Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    3,785
    Likes Received:
    113
    You should be able to just uninstall it and clean install 3.xxx
    Joe
     
  3. Super Sarge

    Super Sarge New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,737
    Likes Received:
    64
    Thanks, That is what I did just finished getting all the updates to the 3.XXX version.
     
  4. patcooke

    patcooke Microsoft MVP
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    5,455
    Likes Received:
    268
    I know it's a RC but released too early from what I've seen - not what we've come to expect from FF. And unless I missed something the invite to try it didn't even offer an option of a clean install to run alongside 3 - it just ran an update and overwrote 3. A RC shouldn't do that - another reason to be thankful for Acronis given all the add ons and configs I've got on FF3. I've uninstalled and recovered 3. I'll have another look in a few weeks time.
     
    #4 patcooke, Mar 22, 2011
    Last edited: Mar 22, 2011
  5. Super Sarge

    Super Sarge New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,737
    Likes Received:
    64
    The problem is it is not an RC it is now in the update section under help in FF and asks if you want to install it.
     
  6. patcooke

    patcooke Microsoft MVP
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    5,455
    Likes Received:
    268
    That's why it just installed I guess but FF is gonna be a while recovering from the bad press I'm sure it's gonna generate.
     
  7. cybercore

    cybercore New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Messages:
    15,823
    Likes Received:
    321
    1 person likes this.
  8. Super Sarge

    Super Sarge New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,737
    Likes Received:
    64
    OK I am going to try it again,

    Just tried it again same same problems, back button does not work, Current page site does not show up in address bar unless you play with it. It does not remember the setting I set up for viewing when I restart FF I have multiple home pages, I have FF set up to open all these pages, it does not do this until I click on the home Icon, so untill ff sends out a few updates to 4 I will continue with the latest and greatest 3.6.15 and any updates to to the 3.xxx series
     
    #8 Super Sarge, Mar 22, 2011
    Last edited: Mar 22, 2011
  9. cybercore

    cybercore New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Messages:
    15,823
    Likes Received:
    321
    All the buttons including Back/Forward work perfectly fine in my FF4. The only inconvenience is that a couple of add-ons don't work anymore.

    You might wanna try if you haven't:

    - a different theme
    - reinstalling with the deletion of FF folder in programs data [hidden folder]

    (Uninstalling Firefox - MozillaZine Knowledge Base)

    Good luck.

    [​IMG]
     
  10. patcooke

    patcooke Microsoft MVP
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    5,455
    Likes Received:
    268
  11. Super Sarge

    Super Sarge New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,737
    Likes Received:
    64
    I had to completly wipe out 3>xxx and start over now everything works, Installing 4.0 over 3.xxx did not work for me. Now everything works as it should
     

Share This Page

Loading...