Windows 7 First Time Problem: Acer Aspire AO532H, Win7 Starter,Cox Cable,"No Valid IP Connection."

frnk1492

"Local area connection has no valid IP configuration" after "Reset local area connection adapter." Have checked configuration using:

http://ww2.cox.com/residential/oklahomacity/support/internet/article.cox?articleId={5ba9c9f0-6441-11df-ccef-000000000000}

and checked other articles. Two other XP computers connect properly.
Have spent several hours on this. What am I missing???
The Acer is new and this is a first-time connection attempt. When replying, please note that I am not good at acronyms/abbreviations.
Thanks.
Frank

If you're connected to internet directly through the cox cable (not via router), then in your network adapter properties you need to enter IPv4 (subnet mask and default gateway) and DNS server address (preferred and alternative). You can get IPv4 and DNS data from your internet provider, phone them, or you can look up in your xp machines' network properties.

http://ww2.cox.com/residential/oklahomacity/support/internet/article.cox?articleId={5ba9c9f0-6441-11df-ccef-000000000000}

Just what the link shows but enter ipv4 and dns values instead of 'obtain automatically.'

Thanks very much. I will do. But why does everyone seem to suggest automatic choosing of values, as I think I will find on my other computers? And doesn't inputting specific values affect "universality?" For example, I plan to try the Acer with Verizon DSL and 3G over the weekend, and later with Wi-fi in Europe. Won't I have to go back to automatic choice again or input other values? (The Wi-Fi case worries me most.)
Your reply would be very much appreciated.
Thanks again.
Frank

Hey...I have the same model...well my father does and guess who configures it lol?

Open an elevated command prompt. Copy/paste these commands one at a time, then hit enter after each:

Code:
netsh int ip reset c:\resetlog.txt
Code:
netsh winsock reset
Reboot and test.