Folder in use

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Help and Support' started by Torquemad, May 25, 2009.

  1. Torquemad

    Torquemad Honorable Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2009
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    just trying to drag some folders into C:\Program Files (x86), coming up that the folder is in use, have end'processed everything possible.

    Ideas?
     
  2. loathe

    loathe New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,718
    Likes Received:
    66
    Try a clean reboot, or try it in safe mode. Which folder is busy?
     
  3. Torquemad

    Torquemad Honorable Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2009
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Have tried rebooting. the directory C:\Program Files (x86) is in use.
     
  4. Torquemad

    Torquemad Honorable Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2009
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Actually, it seems to be the entire C drive

    EDIT - however, it only seems to be with moving folders, for example .exe or .ini or text files can be moved. I have no idea what the issue is and would really appreciate getting this fixed ASAP.
     
    #4 Torquemad, May 25, 2009
    Last edited: May 25, 2009
  5. Anti455

    Anti455 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2009
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    What exactly is in the folders? If you create a "New Folder" on C:\ can you move that around?
     
  6. Torquemad

    Torquemad Honorable Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2009
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    I can make new folders and move them around yes. Just some skins for rainmeter, but it doesnt matter whats in the folders.

    If its any folder and i try to move for eg documents or desktop to C drive, i get that error.
     
  7. reghakr

    reghakr Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    14,220
    Likes Received:
    180
    are you now using the 64-bit edition?
     
  8. Torquemad

    Torquemad Honorable Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2009
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes i am using 64bit
     
  9. Anti455

    Anti455 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2009
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Are you able to move any folders in safe mode or do you get the same error? Also check the Ownership of the folders, maybe the permissions got changed by mistake

    Perhaps a virus has somehow added the system attribute to all your folders so maybe check that to
     
    #9 Anti455, May 26, 2009
    Last edited: May 26, 2009
  10. Torquemad

    Torquemad Honorable Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2009
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0

    When booting up in safe mode, im having no issues moving around folders. All the sharing permissions for my C drive seem to be fine as far as i can tell.
     
  11. Anti455

    Anti455 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2009
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Tried to replicate the problem but no luck
    If you've tried the above and are sure that there is nothing in the folders that your system is using then im out of ideas.
    I rate the your best bet is to start a thread on Microsoft Answers Forums and get one of the Microsoft guru's to take a look
     
  12. reghakr

    reghakr Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    14,220
    Likes Received:
    180
    You can also right-click on the drive letter, choose properties. On the Security tab what group is listed there.

    Everyone?

    You can also use this registry script to Take Ownership

    Copy and paste the info inside the quote into Notepad, choose Save As, then select All Files from the drop-down menu box and type in takeownership.reg. Save it to your desktop and double-click on it to merge it intro the registry. this will place Take Ownership of files and right-click context menu for complete directories.

     
  13. Torquemad

    Torquemad Honorable Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2009
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah im sure, it doesnt matter if its the folders im trying, or if i create a new empty folder on the desktop and try and move it - it just doesnt work

    but i appreciate everyones help, still trying to fix the problem
     
  14. Torquemad

    Torquemad Honorable Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2009
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Someone save me \o/
     
  15. reghakr

    reghakr Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    14,220
    Likes Received:
    180
    Did you try the registry hack?

    Did you receive any error when attempting to merge it into the registry.

    Did you reboot after applying the tweak?
     
  16. Torquemad

    Torquemad Honorable Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2009
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes

    No
    and

    Yes

    hah, still no different made as far as i can tell it doesnt seem to be an issue with admin rights or anything, its the fact that something is accessing the drive and causing me to not be able to move folders into it. Its got me quite stumped
     
    #16 Torquemad, May 27, 2009
    Last edited: May 27, 2009
  17. reghakr

    reghakr Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    14,220
    Likes Received:
    180
    Try right-clicking on the (x86) folder, choose properties, click the Security tab, click the edit button, select your username in the list and check the box for Full Control.
     
  18. Torquemad

    Torquemad Honorable Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2009
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    The c drive has full control - however the 86x folder is greyed out and cannot be modified.
     
  19. reghakr

    reghakr Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    14,220
    Likes Received:
    180
    This is probably out of my league.

    I do not run the 64-bit edition, but have heard that the 32-bit Windows Programs are located in this directory.

    Do you have Show Hidden Files, check the box for know extensions, and show protected operating system files?

    Id there a lock on the folder?
     
  20. Torquemad

    Torquemad Honorable Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2009
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have show hidden files and folders on.

    There is no lock on the folder.btw i appricate you trying tohelp me, you seem to be the only one so far really
     

Share This Page

Loading...