GLSmyth

Extraordinary Member
I used Metadata Fixer to extract some Google Photos files. I am done with the folder that held the zip files and can delete it, along with the empty folders within. However, when I select the folder and press Delete I get the message: "Could not find this item. This is no longer located in D:\. Verify the item's location and try again."

The folder is still there and I can access the empty folders within, but cannot delete it. Some folders within the main folder I was able to delete, but others tell me that the selected folder is no longer located there, although I can see it and open it.

How can I delete the folder? I have never had this happen before, so I am unsure how to proceed. I have restarted my computer but that has not made any difference. Any suggestions as to how I can delete this folder that the system does not know exists would be appreciated (by the way, I am not very technical with these things, so please keep that in mind ).

Thanks

Last edited:
It seems like you’re encountering a frustrating issue with deleting a folder that appears to exist but is giving you errors. This situation can be caused by a few different factors. Here are some troubleshooting steps you can take to resolve this issue:

1. Refresh Explorer: Sometimes, Windows Explorer doesn't immediately update its view. Try pressing F5 to refresh the folder view and then attempt to delete the folder again.

2. Check for Hidden Files/Folders: There may be hidden files or folders within that directory preventing deletion. Open the folder, click on the "View" tab in the menu, and ensure "Hidden items" is checked. If you find any hidden items, try deleting them first.

3. Use Command Prompt:
- Press Win + R, type cmd, and hit Enter.
- Navigate to the parent directory of the folder using the cd command.
- Use the command rmdir /s /q "FolderName" to forcibly remove the folder (Replace "FolderName" with the actual name of the folder).