Folder turned into a 0KB file?

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Help and Support' started by Tony Noel, Apr 22, 2011.

  1. Tony Noel

    Tony Noel New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,

    On my FreeAgent 250GB Hard Drive, set up as a network hard drive, I have a folder with 60+GB of movies (avi. mp4. etc) and all of a sudden in turned into a 0KB file.

    I would really like to fix this, anyone got some ideas?

    Folder to File.
     
  2. Manikandan

    Manikandan New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2011
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    2
    Check the windows update, any update recently mainly any thing related to .net client profile. Of yes
    If the folder still 60+ then right click on the file try with different player .
     
  3. Tony Noel

    Tony Noel New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    The folder says 0KB, it was originally 60GB. I have three 4 different computers all which have access to the hard drive, and none of them show it as a folder.
     
  4. Trouble

    Trouble Noob Whisperer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    13,845
    Likes Received:
    833
    There is another file in the root of that drive according to the image that you included above called autorun.inf
    My concern is that a while back there was a pretty prevalent issue with a virus/malware product associated with autorun.inf
    It could be innocent enough but generally you don't want to see these types of files in the root of any of your drives, you should be able to right click it and open it with notepad to determine what it is pointing at and if it is making an "open" call to a mysterious executeable then you may have an infection something like
    open=somefilename.exe
    a full scan with an updated and current antivirus software might be in order
    keep us posted.
    Regards
    Randy
     
  5. Tony Noel

    Tony Noel New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi Randy,

    Did what you said, and I attached a picture of the virus scan and what happened when I opened the autorun.inf with notepad.

    I believe I created the autorun.inf a long time ago in hopes of creating a shorcut or something (I don't really remember). Either way, I deleted it.

    Antivirus. autorun.
     
  6. Yahel

    Yahel New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2011
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Have you try to open with "right click -> open with -> explorer"?
    To fix the folder use a program called "disk heal"
     
  7. davehc

    davehc Microsoft MVP
    Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Messages:
    5,116
    Likes Received:
    301
    If you can, try a search for just one of the movies by name. I think they may have been moved somewhere else.?
    Also, look in Users - username - Searches and see if anything is listed as "recently changed folders"
     
    #7 davehc, Apr 23, 2011
    Last edited: Apr 23, 2011
  8. Tony Noel

    Tony Noel New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    There is no option, "open with" just "open."
    I also tried the program earlier with no luck.

    Problem is... There is about 5 computers in the last 3 months that have had access to that folder. And for the last 3 years of using it, this is the first problem I have ever had.
     
  9. Tony Noel

    Tony Noel New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
  10. Trouble

    Trouble Noob Whisperer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    13,845
    Likes Received:
    833
    Sorry Tony;
    Don't have much more, but at the risk of sounding dumb. Have you connected the drive to another computer, just to see if the problem is the same when viewing it locally on the other computer rather than across the network. Is the drive independently powered or just USB power only?
     
  11. Saltgrass

    Saltgrass Excellent Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    15,157
    Likes Received:
    393
    Have you tried to copy or move the item to another area, out of that parent folder?

    Is there any chance the folder was just a link to another area? Is something from another area linked to it, like a media server or network share?

    Have you tried booting into the Recovery function and the Command Window to see if you can do a dir command on the folder to see if it shows up outside of Windows?

    Holding Shift down when you right click may give you some additional options.

    Could the folder have been encrypted or compressed?

    You may want to use this as a last step, but have you tried right clicking and select "Restore Previous versions". I could see a situation where this would be a problem if, for some reason, the folder had become corrupted.
     
    #11 Saltgrass, Apr 26, 2011
    Last edited: Apr 26, 2011
  12. Tony Noel

    Tony Noel New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes, it says I need admin privileges (which I have) and I have tried to take ownership of it.

    No, close to impossible.

    Not sure what this means... sorry.

    It's possible that it could be. It says there are no previous versions.
     
  13. Manikandan

    Manikandan New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2011
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    2
    Hi tony,I had same problem but when I try to open with different player it started working,
    I. Had this problem since my external hard drive affected by virus I did scan using e-set and tried it worked.
     
  14. Saltgrass

    Saltgrass Excellent Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    15,157
    Likes Received:
    393
    If you right click on the "folder" and look at properties, it is normal for a folder to say O bytes. Below that on the General Tab, is a "Contains" entry. Does that show anything as far as files or folders inside?

    If you go to the customize tab, can your at least change the icon?

    I do not know what happens if Digital Rights Management gets involved, but could that be part of the problem?
     
  15. Tony Noel

    Tony Noel New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    I added a screenie to show you what I get when I right click with shift. I highly doubt that could be the reason. But now thinking about it, look what I boxed on the picture. This is weird since it was made over 2 years ago. Maybe it could have something to do with Windows Media Center?

    Movie Properties.

    I will download that and try right now!
     
    #15 Tony Noel, Apr 26, 2011
    Last edited: Apr 26, 2011
  16. Saltgrass

    Saltgrass Excellent Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    15,157
    Likes Received:
    393
    From the screenie, seems like it is confused about what it really is.

    Do you know why it states the Location as A:\ ?
     
    #16 Saltgrass, Apr 26, 2011
    Last edited: Apr 26, 2011
  17. Tony Noel

    Tony Noel New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah, that's it's Drive Letter.

    Look here: VVV
    Location.

    What is also weird is that, the Hard Drive still shows the space of the Hard Drive with the Movies folder in it. 103GB of 229GB - There is no way this could be without the Movie Folder.
     
  18. Saltgrass

    Saltgrass Excellent Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    15,157
    Likes Received:
    393
    Looks like I am going to have to do some more research. What model drive is this external version? If you use A:, something normally used for a floppy drive, do you or have you set something in the bios to see it?
     
  19. Tony Noel

    Tony Noel New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    It's a Seagate FreeAgent 250GB Desktop USB Hard Drive, connected by (one of the greatest inventions ever known to man) a Linksys Network Storage Link.

    No? I don't think so? All I did to get it running was connect the Storage Link to my Hard Drive, log into it, attach my Hard Drive, format it. Then on my computer select "Map Network Drive" and boom, there it is.
     
  20. Saltgrass

    Saltgrass Excellent Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    15,157
    Likes Received:
    393

Share This Page

Loading...