Force Resolution?

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Graphics' started by parrish, Jan 13, 2010.

  1. parrish

    parrish New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello
    I am trying for set my resolution in Window 7 Premium over to 1680x1050. When I attempt to do this, in Nvidia control panel, it sets it over to 1600x1024.

    I was able to set my resolution to 1680x1050 in Window XP and in Window 7 Professional, but I am not able to with Home Premium.

    All my drivers have been deleted and reinstalled using the latest version.
    Anyone have any ideas on how to fix this?
    Thanks.
     
  2. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,829
    Likes Received:
    1,565
    Have you tried right-clicking on the desktop and choosing 'Screen Resolution'?
     
  3. parrish

    parrish New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes, that was the first thing I tried and the selection for 1680x1050 was not there. This is why I decided to go into the Nvidia control panel.
     
  4. parrish

    parrish New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Bumping due to my confusion :(
     
  5. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,829
    Likes Received:
    1,565
    Sorry parrish our enforced holiday meant your post was missed.. Have you checked if your monitor needs any drivers ect? Sometimes running Windows update will produce results..
     
  6. parrish

    parrish New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    I ran the windows install for the drivers, and it claims they are up to date. The drivers are rather old, 2006, but it claims they are up to date.

    I'm just confused as to how I was able to get my desired resolution in Window XP and 7 Professional without an issue, but Premium is giving me all sorts of grief.
     
  7. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,829
    Likes Received:
    1,565
    Therein could lie your problem.. Windows update doesn't always supply the best driver. For the most part it does but it certainly shouldn't be trusted absolutely.. Try the latest release remembering to un-install the old driver first.
     
  8. parrish

    parrish New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have tried to do that, however the drivers needed for my monitor are kind of screwy. I have an Envision monitor and their driver pack doesn't provide the driver for a "H22W" monitor.
     
  9. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,829
    Likes Received:
    1,565
    Hmm....I'll check it out.
     
  10. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,829
    Likes Received:
    1,565

Share This Page

Loading...