Freezing and blank / strips on screen.

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Help and Support' started by Ethersin, Jul 3, 2009.

  1. Ethersin

    Ethersin New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello all.

    I have just installed Windows 7 for the third time. And each time I have had the same problem. It runs along fine then suddenly I'll get a blank white screen and the system seem's to have frozen. It can also be blue and white stripes or white with grey lines.

    Is this a known bug and what is the cause of it?

    My computer meet's minimum specifications.

    The first time I installed it and got the problem I thought it could of been because it was a funny install. It made a Windows.old and I thought this might be messing with it. The second time I installed it I upgraded over the previous install, Just to make sure nothing was missing. This third install I have done on a separate partition. So that it shouldn't matter what is on the others.

    But I still get the same problem.. Is this possibly an error in the install file I got? I did have a problem at the end of the download and had to re-open the download page. Problem?

    Thank's Rich.

    -----Edit-------

    Okay I just restarted after the white screen, and now it's in a windows 98 look-a-like skin. And I cannot access anything.

    Explorer.EXE
    Windows cannot access the specified device, path, or file. You may not have the appropriate permissions to access the item.

    That was clicking on 'Computer' in the start menu.

    Thank's Rich.
     
    #1 Ethersin, Jul 3, 2009
    Last edited: Jul 3, 2009
  2. Ethersin

    Ethersin New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Anyone even had this problem? Is there any solution at all?

    I've re-downloaded it but i'm still having the same problem.
     
  3. BigFeet

    BigFeet Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2009
    Messages:
    268
    Likes Received:
    9
    Might be a driver issue. What version of Win 7 x64, x86? System specs? Graphics card?

    The Windows.old file is created when you do an upgrade from vista.
     
    #3 BigFeet, Jul 5, 2009
    Last edited: Jul 5, 2009
  4. Ethersin

    Ethersin New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well it seem's to be fixed.. I had the 32bit installed. I've downloaded and installed the 64bit version. No problems at all today.

    I'm running on on-board graphics card.. i thought this might have been a problem but it is a 128mb card.

    It's a 64bit processor but I'm running 32bit XP on it.

    Well The problem seems solved for now. Thank's for the reply. Maybe someone else will get this problem (I hope not) but this may be useful or not to them,

    Rich
     
  5. BigFeet

    BigFeet Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2009
    Messages:
    268
    Likes Received:
    9
    Good to hear that it's fixed!!!
     
  6. ickymay

    ickymay New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,689
    Likes Received:
    113
    It's almost certainly going to be a hardware and drivers issue , please can you post your systems spec ?
     

Share This Page

Loading...