From Home Premium to Professional

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Installation' started by Splinter, Nov 12, 2011.

  1. Splinter

    Splinter New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello!
    Is is possible to change from Windows 7 Home Premium to Windows 7 Professional without losing files? Both are 64 bit.
     
  2. Trouble

    Trouble Noob Whisperer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    13,845
    Likes Received:
    833
    Should be fine as long as you run the install of Windows 7 Professional from within Windows 7 Home Premium and choose the upgrade option. However personally I would never consider doing anything of the sort without making sure I had a strong fall back position. Including a confirmed good system image as well as a good backup of all of my important critical data.
    Windows Anytime Upgrade: Windows 7 Professional for Windows 7 | Windows 7
     
  3. Saltgrass

    Saltgrass Excellent Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    15,157
    Likes Received:
    393
    Think you have to use the "Anytime Upgrade" option....
     
  4. Drew

    Drew Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2006
    Messages:
    3,575
    Likes Received:
    146
    Clean, "Custom Installs" are always the better, safer way to go. Surer bet to be problem free than some of what we have seen or heard about after taking the "Upgrade" path.

    Regards,
    Drew
     
  5. Medico

    Medico Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2011
    Messages:
    1,158
    Likes Received:
    65
    As Trouble states vreate a good image before doing the upgrade. If you have a problem with the Anytime Upgrade, restore the Image, then install the Win7 Pro directly into the Win 7 HP partition without choosing to format (this chore will be handled by the installer) Doing the Custom install in this manner should create a folder called windows.old in the root directory. This folder contains the entire old OS. You can open this folder and drag all data to the new OS. Once you have everything moved you wish to save, delete this folder as it is very large.
     

Share This Page

Loading...