full AHCI mode causing slow startup?

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Help and Support' started by Nilsb7, Dec 1, 2009.

  1. Nilsb7

    Nilsb7 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hellooooo peopluuh

    My beautifull litlle PC is having startup problems! oh noes! :O

    Well, I got only SATA drives, so I changed some registry value (yea i did that after windows install, my bad) and changed all Bios option that had anything to do with IDE or so to AHCI. It's runnning like that for about 2 months, no changes in hardware or whatever, but what a noticed lately is that the drive usage indicator (well you know that thing on the front panel of the pc right?) takes about 30 seconds to start up/to start accessing the drive (you can hear it as well). So the PC kind of does simply nothing for those whole 30 seconds, I just think that part should be skipped :D

    Well other things you might need to know, I have noguiboot enabled and that's it.
    I hope there are some good AHCI/SATA junkies out here that can help me :redface:

    signed,
    PACMAAAAAAAAN
    aka
    Nilsb7
    :razz:

    btw, just look for my computer specs in my profile, got them all updated.



    To not spam this forum with threads, I've got 2 monitors hooked up, working fine.
    But... everytime my desktop background changes I get laaaaaaaaaaaaag, in like everything, when watching a movie, or playing counter strike, it's just annoying so it would be great of you got some solution :)
     
    #1 Nilsb7, Dec 1, 2009
    Last edited: Dec 1, 2009
  2. Nilsb7

    Nilsb7 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    0
    Aannyyoonnee??
     
  3. jeradw

    jeradw Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2009
    Messages:
    474
    Likes Received:
    6
    Maybe one of the hard drives is dying? Try running chkdsk and scan for bad sectors.
     
  4. Nilsb7

    Nilsb7 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    0
    hmm, no problems during the test, though I know that my 2nd HD is a couple of years old and not perfect anymore, ill try starting up without that drive to compare.
    thanks
     
  5. jeradw

    jeradw Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2009
    Messages:
    474
    Likes Received:
    6
    Any update on this?
     
  6. Nilsb7

    Nilsb7 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    0
    No :p
    i reinstalled windows 7 because of some admin permission issues, well and i didnt really take the time yet to watch startup xD
    yea me lazy :D
     
  7. jeradw

    jeradw Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2009
    Messages:
    474
    Likes Received:
    6
    So its working better now, or are you still having the same problems?
     

Share This Page

Loading...