Gadgets problem and no aero

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Help and Support' started by sharpie349, Nov 26, 2008.

  1. sharpie349

    sharpie349 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello all,
    Whenever i try to click on get gadgets or the regular gadgets icon in the control panel absolutely nothing happens so i cant get any gadgets.
    Whats wrong with it?

    Also ive been trying to enable aero all day but it seems i dont have it and im stuck with the ugly grey for the superbar.
    Can i fix it so i have aero.

    For info i did a clean upgrade from xp to 7.

    Thanks.
     
  2. iroken22

    iroken22 Extraordinary Member
    Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    1,649
    Likes Received:
    49
    re

    This is a problem I had and I was able to fix it by going into the registry to and changing

    HKCU/Software/Microsoft/Windows/DWM/

    Composition = 1
    CompositionPolicy = 2

    Then Restart Your Computer and go into the themes and select the windows 7 theme and you should be good to go.
     
  3. konkhra

    konkhra New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Gadget Issue

    I have the exact same problem with the gadgets...any ideas how i can resolve this????
    Thanx

     
  4. kamran5461

    kamran5461 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    i had the same issue... i think it happened cuz i disabled my user account control or changed it to ""never notify".
    so i moved the toggle up one level . and now gadgets work just fine.
     
  5. iroken22

    iroken22 Extraordinary Member
    Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    1,649
    Likes Received:
    49
    Did you try the fix i put above that fools your computer to turn on Aero anyway. Also go into the personalization and go into theme and make sure windows 7 is chosen as the theme. After changing the registry entry restart your computer and see if it helps
     
  6. marin8703

    marin8703 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    as someone mentioned earlier its due to changing the UAC settings. If u change from default teh gadgets no longer work. i dont know about the issue with aero as i still had aero functioning while the gadgets were not.
     

Share This Page

Loading...