Windows 7 Gears of War

Discussion in 'Windows Games' started by Tazcada, Feb 3, 2009.

  1. Tazcada

    Tazcada New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've tried this in compatibilty mode.

    the error is "you cannot run this game with modified executable code" Any suggestions?
     
  2. Kiza

    Kiza New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Gears not working?

    Hey man! I had the exact same problem! Found out in the end that it's a problem with the game! Apparently the license to run the game expired on January 28th this year. Not sure if there's an update to sort it out yet but you can make it run by setting ur date back to before the 28th!

    Hope this helps! ^_^

    Ok, found an update for the pc to fix the problem! Oddly enough on the xbox site but there you go!

    http://gearsofwar.xbox.com/pc/qfe1.htm

    Hope it helps! ^_^
     
    #2 Kiza, Feb 11, 2009
    Last edited: Feb 11, 2009
  3. s.t.a.l.k.e.r.1976

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    2
    Fix gears of war non running problem

    how to make gears of war work on windows 7 in 10 steps

    1: full install the game

    2: get the latest patch
    http://support.microsoft.com/kb/967644

    3: install the patch

    4: get a no cd patch (stops it asking for correct disk)
    http://gbw.naxpllc.net/files/GearsOfWarv1.1NoDVDFixedexeEng.rar

    5: on your pc go to th game directory
    C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft Games\Gears of War\Binaries


    6: select the file startup.exe and delete it


    7: copy your new downloaded exe to the directory to replace it


    8: right click startup.exe and use compatability selecting windows 95
    (lol YES windows 95)


    9: right click the file WarGame-G4WLive.exe use compatability and this time select the windows xp option


    10: run the game from startup.exe or your games folder in start and enjoy, works 100% for me was amazed i even got it to work

    oh if your game sticks on exit just press escape

    this also works with virtual drives installed

    the patch works for gears on any windows but it will still ask for the correct disk

    happy gaming!!
     
    Sonic and (deleted member) like this.
  4. reckeless

    reckeless New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    hey man i have donde evreything you said but when i run the game it just works for five minuntes, and alsohow ca i do this step
    8: right click startup.exe and use compatability selecting windows 95

    please help me man
     
  5. s.t.a.l.k.e.r.1976

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    2
    right click the gears of war icon, select
    "open file location"

    this will hilight it for u

    right click the file and go to properties

    in the window tha opens theres tabs at the top, one being compatability

    check the box "run this program in compatability mode for:"

    windows 95

    apply then ok

    should work for longer as iv now completed the game on win 7
     
  6. jorg32

    jorg32 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've made the steps, but, the game starts and after a few moments crashes (doesn't show any error message), and I've to kill the process.

    Any idea?

    Greetings
     
  7. s.t.a.l.k.e.r.1976

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    2
    hello there

    i have no idea, i tried allsorts to get it to work, i wrote down what i was trying so i wouldnt just keep doin the same thing. once i found the way it worked i posted on here, but since then i have moved house and dont have the notes anymore.

    its strange cos the instructions i have posted should work.

    the only thing i can think of is the version of 7 may be different as i used an early version of a test beta, think it was the fiist relears. also i am on 64bit so that may make a difference

    sorry i cant help further even though id like to be able to :s

    s.t.a.l.k.e.r.1976

    my specs are

    Abit A-N78HD Am2+
    Athlon 64 x2 6400
    8gb DDR2 800Mhz
    XFX nVidia 8800gtx 768mb

    at the time of playing G.O.W i was using a ATI3870HD 512mb
     
  8. jorg32

    jorg32 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    mmm, I've the beta too, the earlier version, on 32bit

    I'll test it on 64.

    Mine are:

    NEOV3 am2
    64X2 6000+
    3GB RAM
    XFX 9800GT DDR3

    Thanks

    *I'll keep you posted
     
  9. ecrasher

    ecrasher New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    help meeeeeee gow ppl

    i seem to get a errot report saying u can not run in the modifies exicutable code!!!!! any body have a clue on what todo

    my requirements are


    asusel
    T5850 intel core2 duo
    1mb nvidia GT120m
    2mb ram

    plese tell me what to do cos i realy want to play this game
     
  10. Tazcada

    Tazcada New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    To play gears of war on my machine: I re-installed twice, totally removed GoW, and then did this.

    Install patch two,and then Download the latest patch..... Gears_TU3... you can get it here: http://www.fileshack.com/file.x/11503/Gears+of+War+Patch+
    I only have the icon for WarGame-G4WLive. I tried different compatibility modes and other than vista, none of it worked for me. The game has to be played through windows live if you want to save your progress.... otherwise it'll lose it's place and only give you Acts 1 and 5.

    No guarantee this'll work., but it worked for me
     
  11. ecrasher

    ecrasher New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    one other problem

    thankyou Tazcada,

    iv tried what you asked and got in the game but it crashes down in abt 2 mins or rather 1min

    how can i stop that and play the game continuing??

    please if any one knows let me know im dying to play the game i even have windows live but no help
     
  12. Arathefu

    Arathefu New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've got different problem.
    'Till 7100 compilation everything was fine. Now i got this HUGE fps drops:mad: It's, like from ~60 to 2(!) for about 5 seconds, then it's ok for about minute and the same thing again. Even in menu. I've tried few things, but nothing seems to help.
    Here's my machine:
    C2D E2140 @ 3 GHz
    2 GB RAM
    GeForce 8600 GTS
    Please help!!!
     
  13. baoie

    baoie New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    It Worked !! BUT it died after 3 - 4 mins ... help me please !!

    It Worked !! BUT it died after 3 - 4 mins ... help me please !!
    i did exactly everything and it worked beautifully but then it just turned off the game
    can someone please help me as im desperate to play this game !!

     
  14. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,849
    Likes Received:
    1,569
    Why not try re-installing and go through the above again?
     
  15. baoie

    baoie New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have done it about 4 - 6 times already and it keeps on doing it so i dont know .. if it cannot work,
    then i'm considering of buying the real copy as i'm tired of doing these things LOL

    Here are my comp specs ;

    Intel Quad Core 2 Q6600 @ 2.40Ghz
    3GB DDR
    Windows 7 32bit <--- i think that's the problem
    500GB SATA HD
    Nvidia Geforce 9600 GT
     
  16. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,849
    Likes Received:
    1,569
    It's odd that it worked for those few minutes though... Have you tried checking through the GOW forum?
     
  17. Highwayman

    Highwayman Extraordinary Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2009
    Messages:
    3,977
    Likes Received:
    112
    It's a bug that also plagues the original, not just copied ones folks... Although it worked without any messing around on mine typically, just installed n run (once patched) and no issues.
     
  18. freak

    freak New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
  19. MRenegade

    MRenegade New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I Need serious help. Im Running windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit. and Ive installed gears of war, but when i try to install the patch, it gives me the cant run with modifialbe game content binaries thing. and i just tried to do it again and nothing came up again. Please this is my favorite game and I had to go through alot to get my hands on another copy, can anyone pls help?

    *EDIT*
    ALSO when I run the patch in certain compatibility modes, i get an error that says incorrect DVD-ROM inserted, which I have the gears of war disk inserted.
    Im at the end of the line here i just dont know what to do.
    :(
     
    #19 MRenegade, Mar 23, 2010
    Last edited: Mar 23, 2010
  20. muradov

    muradov New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    GOW crash after Microsoft logo appears

    Hi,

    I have installed GOW according to mentioned steps but after i run the game it loads and after microsoft logo appears the game crash to desktop.

    Please help me :(
     

Share This Page

Loading...