Windows 7 Getting rid of XP

fjgold

Hi Folks, I'm posting this to illustrate how I replaced\removed XP from my system in favor of Win 7.
First some background.

I've been using Win 7 since the beta as part of a multiboot setup on my Acer laptop.
The other MS OS was my old XP install.
My old XP was located at the physical start of my drive.
To install Win 7 beta, the subsequent RC and finally the Win 7 Home Premium retail I simply had created
an appropriately sized NTFS partition at the physical end of my HDD.
As each release became available I simply performed a clean install to the same partition.
I also have 4 Linux distros in the space in between the MS OS's.

I've been using the final release of Win 7 for about 9 months now and have been very happy with it.
I recently began experiencing minor but annoying issues with Win 7 so I figured it was time for a re-install.
Since I haven't used XP much since starting my adventure with Win 7 I decided to jettison XP and recover the disk space.
My plan was to ultimately install Win 7 at the start of the drive in place of XP.

I knew that the XP install contained the BCD info needed to boot Win 7 so to save time and hair pulling I decided on a
safer although somewhat round about way to do this.
Here is what I did.

I had a spare drive laying around so I partitioned it with 2 NTFS partitions.
The first partition created was the same size as the original XP\Win 7 partitions (23069 MB).
I did this so I could clone the new install to my drive later.
This was because Clonezilla, my prefered imaging program will only restore an image to a partition
the same size or larger as the cloned partition.

The 2nd partition, actually the rest of the space, I made NTFS also.
This partition would be used to install my apps and programs after instaling Win 7 to the first partition.
This keeps the Win 7 footprint fairly small, around 10 GB, (having a small footprint makes it easier to create clone images later).