google home page

Discussion in 'Windows Vista Help and Support' started by bassfisher6522, Oct 23, 2009.

  1. bassfisher6522

    bassfisher6522 Essential Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    Messages:
    4,878
    Likes Received:
    317
    Has anybody else noticed on google's home page that when it loads it just the google search bar w/google logo above it, until you move the mouse then you see all different links. Or is this just my computer doing something funny? This only happens in IE 8.
     
    #1 bassfisher6522, Oct 23, 2009
    Last edited: Oct 23, 2009
  2. tblount

    tblount New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,537
    Likes Received:
    64
    It must be you. I see Google... when i move my mouse nothing changes.
     
  3. jeradw

    jeradw Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2009
    Messages:
    474
    Likes Received:
    6
    can you attach a screenshot?
     
  4. tblount

    tblount New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,537
    Likes Received:
    64
    yes.. jsut click Quote and scroll down to the manage upload
     
  5. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,790
    Likes Received:
    1,563
    I think it's you bassfisher.. :) Have you run any updates lately?
     
  6. bassfisher6522

    bassfisher6522 Essential Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    Messages:
    4,878
    Likes Received:
    317
    video clip of problem/annoyance

    Here is a video clip of my problem/annoyance. The only way I could post it here is a link with youtube.

     
    #6 bassfisher6522, Oct 28, 2009
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 26, 2013
  7. tblount

    tblount New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,537
    Likes Received:
    64
    Do away with tabs and test it. I never use tabs.. makes closing browser windows a mess... stops me and wants to know if I want to close all tabs.... WTF.... I don't need to fiddle with the mouse and answer more questions when I want to close my browser window... and I don't want to close ALL windows if I use Alt + F4
    Whoever likes this must enjoy wasting time.
     
  8. bassfisher6522

    bassfisher6522 Essential Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    Messages:
    4,878
    Likes Received:
    317
    So how do I test it and what do you suggest?
     
  9. tblount

    tblount New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,537
    Likes Received:
    64
    Tools / Options / General / Tabs Uncheck the box that enables tab browsing..

    Reboot and see if the funny mouse problem is still there when you load google.

    AND if you are running 64 bit... try IE in the program files (x86) folder.. it's the 32 bit version
     
  10. bassfisher6522

    bassfisher6522 Essential Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    Messages:
    4,878
    Likes Received:
    317
    Nope that didn't work, still persists. Yes, it's a 32 bit system.
     
  11. tblount

    tblount New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,537
    Likes Received:
    64
    Try this

    Click "Start" and type and enter "ap" to enter the appearance menu.
    Click "best performance" then go back to "Let Windows choose.."
     
  12. bassfisher6522

    bassfisher6522 Essential Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    Messages:
    4,878
    Likes Received:
    317
    Well today there were two windows updates, Platform Update for Windows Vista (KB971644) and the other was for my Logitech webcam. I downloaded both and after the reboot my google home page is back to normal. So as far as I can tell, I still don't have a clue what the problem was or who's glitch it was.
     
  13. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,790
    Likes Received:
    1,563
    Yes some of the recent updates have been for IE8's compatibility list so I wonder if this is what has been your problem all along...Interesting!
    Glad you got it sorted though..There's noting worse than having bug you can't track down..
     

Share This Page

Loading...