GParted

anotherwindowsuser

Active Member
Hi,

As I have been getting on well with my installation of Linux Ubtuntu 20.04 on a SSD I installed it to a few months back, I decided to delete the partition I was using it from on a HDD and extend the partition for saved data to utilised the entire HDD. However rather than simply extend the patition, GParted is literally moving all the data to the start of the HDD as part of the process, this shows to take 3 hours, as per attached printscreen, what is the functoin of the 'cancel' button then? Does it make a mess of things or does it leave the partition extended but simply leave the data where it was on the HDD platter? Thanks in advance.
 

anotherwindowsuser

Active Member
Picture of GParted
 

Attachments

  • Screenshot from 2020-08-29 17-51-49.png
    Screenshot from 2020-08-29 17-51-49.png
    85 KB · Views: 115
Top