Graphical issues with Windows 7 64-Bit

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Graphics' started by SmilerAl, Feb 22, 2010.

  1. SmilerAl

    SmilerAl New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey guys, I've recently built my PC and installed Windows 7 64-Bit as my OS, since then though I've uncounted many graphical problems with my games and on desktop. The issues are shown below (picture and video not of my own setup, but are the same issue). The graphic issues in game happens on every game I have tried (Bioshock 2, Crysis 64, TF2, HL2, L4D1+2, Oblivion, F3).
    Here are my PC specs too just in case that's part of the issue:

    OS: Windows7 Home Premium 64-Bit
    Case: Coolermaster HAF 922 Mid Tower Case
    Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD3R
    CPU: Intel Core i7-920
    RAM:Corsair Dominator XM3 PC3-12800
    Graphics Card:Radeon HD 5750
    PSU:Antec 850W Truepower
    HDD: Samsung SpinPoint F3 1TB

    I'd appreciate any one letting me know what's the issue and how to fix it.

    http://www.upload.ee/image/87124/VIGANE.jpg

     
    #1 SmilerAl, Feb 22, 2010
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 26, 2013
  2. SmilerAl

    SmilerAl New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Why is it so hard to get a clear answer on this forum? Surely some one in all their time using W7 would have picked up some knowledge to help me out?
     
  3. cybercore

    cybercore New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Messages:
    15,823
    Likes Received:
    321
    Welcome to the forums, SmilerAI. :)

    1. Try latest Catalyst version if you haven't already
    2. Make sure to have your monitor driver installed
    3. When you are updating a driver, follow these steps - uninstall it first, reboot, install new version, reboot
    4. Update DirectX
    5. Update your system

    Did you contact AMD support?
     
    SmilerAl and (deleted member) like this.
  4. ickymay

    ickymay New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,689
    Likes Received:
    113
    definitely a gfx driver issue as cybercore has suggested :)

    what driver version are you running on your HD5750 ?
     
    SmilerAl and (deleted member) like this.
  5. SmilerAl

    SmilerAl New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've used Driver Genius Professional to check and install all my drivers, so I'll be looking to contact them soon.
     
  6. SmilerAl

    SmilerAl New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    10.2, On the site it specifies for Windows 7 64-Bit systems.
     
  7. ickymay

    ickymay New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,689
    Likes Received:
    113
    I've got the HD5770 and I had issues with the 10.2 drivers , unfortunately in my experience radeon drivers leave a little to be desired in compatibility and stability with windows 7 at the moment :frown:

    personally I prefer the 9.12 :)

    apart from that I think your looking at the game engine and are at the beck and call of any updates the game makers might bring out ?
     
  8. SmilerAl

    SmilerAl New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hmm damn, one thing I've noticed that the graphic issues eventually go away on most games, however the fact that I have them in the first place and on the desktop is annoying.
     
  9. cybercore

    cybercore New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Messages:
    15,823
    Likes Received:
    321
    So did you try a different Catalyst version, maybe one that came on your support cd, is the behavior all the same ? The one you get on the support CD may be better optimized for your video card.

    Did you try settings in ATI Catalyst Control Panel, like Monitor Panel Properties, Display options, Refresh Rate:


    TweakGuides.com - ATI Catalyst Tweak Guide


    If adjusting the refresh rate doesn't help, then maybe you can try a different monitor connection?

    (We take it that your card is not overclocked)
     
  10. SmilerAl

    SmilerAl New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks I'll try that when I get some free time later tonight. And no it isn't overclocked, didn't want to push anything until I fixed the current issues.
     
  11. Gioh

    Gioh New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have this issue with the game Witcher enhanced.
    All games so far no probs. But witcher is on big artifact.

    Windows 7 64 bit.
    5850 Sapphire
    i7-920
    6 Gb Geil 160o

    Bought components 2 monts ago. You think its a driver issue?

    CODMW2, DragonAge, Divinity have no problems whatsoever.
    Witcher is the first game dispolaying these issues.
     
  12. reghakr

    reghakr Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    14,220
    Likes Received:
    180
    Have you tried locating the executable file, choose properties, click the Compatibility tab and run it in XP mode. There are other modifications you can make here.
     

Share This Page

Loading...