Graphics driver problem?

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Graphics' started by Ignoral, Feb 4, 2010.

  1. Ignoral

    Ignoral New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Last night I installed Windows 7 for the second time, the first time I had the exact same problem and downloading drivers from dell that were 'Windows 7 compatible' didn't seem to fix anything..

    http://i47.tinypic.com/1zexx7a.jpg

    Pretty sure from that picture you'll be able to see my problem and that's just a mild case of that happening, as you can imagine it is incredibly annoying while trying to play games or check my emails, hell just writing this is getting confusing. (Resizing the window seems to help.. for about 10 minutes.)
    I never, ever had this problem with Vista. I'd really hate to have to go back to Vista again because of this.
    I have 3GB of RAM and a Pentium(R) Dual core 2.0GHz processor.
    32-bit Windows 7 Ultimate.
    If there's any more information you need to diagnose the problem please let me know and I'll get it back to you ASAP.

    I've noticed that it only seems to do so after doing something visually intensive like games and a 3D Chat application I use, after I close the application causing the problem it will not fix itself till I restart.
    Unfortunately that's pretty much all I use my laptop for...
     
    #1 Ignoral, Feb 4, 2010
    Last edited: Feb 4, 2010
  2. Basher

    Basher Honorable Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    367
    Likes Received:
    12
    What is your graphics card?

    Basher
     
  3. Ignoral

    Ignoral New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    It's on on-board crappy Dell one.

    Detected Chipset:
    Chipset Components
    Memory Controller:
    Mobile Intel® 82GM45 Graphics and Memory Controller Hub (GMCH)
    I/O Controller:
    Intel(R) 82801IMB Intel(R) I/O Controller Hub (ICH9M-B) SATA Controller found in AHCI mode
    Integrated Graphics:
    This chipset supports integrated graphics.

    I thought the Dxdiag was enough to tell that though?
     
  4. Mike

    Mike Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2005
    Messages:
    8,488
    Likes Received:
    783
    Dell will normally not steer you wrong with drivers, as long as you have the right ones. Be sure that they are Windows 7 drivers and not simply Windows Vista compatibility drivers. Look to the Intel Driver website to see if you can find a driver for this graphics chipset. You are looking for Intel Express Chipset drivers for your current graphics chipset. It is an integrated chipset and this is where the problem is. There is less support when compared to dedicated graphics cards and they are very weak graphically. This is why Intel is moving towards including GPU elements into the CPU itself!
     
  5. Ignoral

    Ignoral New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
  6. Ignoral

    Ignoral New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Nevermind... after about 15 minutes of the game being open I'm back to square one.
    Could you tell me how to decrease the onboard aperture memory?
    I tried googling it and found your post as the number 1 result. :razz:

    I kinda messed up..
    Didn't mean to double post, I quoted myself instead of editing.
    Admins/Mods could you merge the posts please?
     
  7. Basher

    Basher Honorable Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    367
    Likes Received:
    12
    Oops you're right there - didn't take much notice of the image only the crap stuff.

    I had the same problem when vista came out. Fortunately I could change the graphics card and it solved the problem. But that's no help to you accept make sure you have the latest drivers from Intel and not the Windows 7 driver.

    Basher
     
  8. Ignoral

    Ignoral New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'll take a peek inside my laptop and see if there's any obvious way I could use the ATI card from my old laptop.
    Probably wont be able to but it'll give me something to do to pass the time.

    Edit:- I only have direct access to my HD and RAM.
    :(
     
    #9 Ignoral, Feb 4, 2010
    Last edited: Feb 4, 2010
  9. Saltgrass

    Saltgrass Excellent Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    15,157
    Likes Received:
    393
    I might suggest you hook it up to an external monitor. That would at least tell you if it might be an lcd problem or a hardware problem.

    Does your computer have good air circulation? If you take the keyboard off, check for dust bunnies around the cooling fan and heatsink.

    If you do go inside the unit, make sure you have unplugged and removed battery.
     
  10. Ignoral

    Ignoral New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    I doubt it's the monitor - as stated before it works fine with Vista. Just so happens I have another monitor so I'll hook it up now.

    Edit:- Back with results, unfortunately not good ones. The exact same thing happens with the external monitor.

    Edit 2:- I did the most basic of things.
    I disabled Windows 7 Aero....
    So far so good.
    Fingers crossed!
     
    #11 Ignoral, Feb 4, 2010
    Last edited: Feb 4, 2010
  11. Gioh

    Gioh New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    What woul you suggest in my case?

    i7-920, 5850 saphire 1 Gb, W7 64bit, 6 Gb. bought and built about 2 months ago.

    Games like Codmw2, Divinty2 etc. run like a charm.

    But i try Witcher enhanced and it displays loads of artifact (dx10)
    Mind you, the game plays corretly, its the displaying thats f..ed up.

    Where could the problem be? IS it because Witcher loads a older DX9 version? ( the 5850 support up to DX11)
    Im tryin to play the game, but its not attractive in this way.
    even the itor movie displays like 'splits"in the visuals. Beautifull intro movie tho.

    I checked the Witcher specific forum, but all answers are like download this and that.
     
  12. Gioh

    Gioh New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    solved.

    indeed downloaded the latest recently released driver for Windows 7.
    evrything max again..neat.

    tx
     
  13. WindowsGuy

    WindowsGuy New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    2
    Hello there,
    Have you checked compatibility?
    Just an FYI for you.

    It is always best to check with the software manufacturer FIRST. They will tell you if they have tested the product and the version, as well as whether or not it will work with Windows 7.
    Check out the Windows 7 Compatibility site: (There you will find out about hardware and software compatibilty.)
    Windows 7 Compatibility: Resources for PCs, Devices and Software Programs
    There is a pulldown from which you can choose "hardware" and "software".

    There are also some great articles, instructional videos and such to help with your Windows 7 at our Springboard site:
    Windows Client | Deploy, Manage, Desktop, 7, Vista, XP | TechNet
    In any event a lot of the times, Vista drivers will work in lieu of Windows 7 drivers, however, it's not 100%!

    As stated previously, it's best to have the Windows 7 certified drivers installed.
    Microsoft does have an official Windows 7 Support Forum located here Windows 7 IT Pro Category. It is supported by product specialists as well as engineers and support teams. You may want to check the threads available there for additional assitance and support.

    Thanks again,
    John M.
    Microsoft Windows Client Support
     
  14. Gioh

    Gioh New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    graphics Witcher

    tx for repsonse.
    Did load the latest drivers, game ran nice at max settings.

    Onl thing wich slowed it down was some effects like fire.
    I assume its the programming of the game. Other games dont have that problem.
     

Share This Page

Loading...