Hangs at "Setup is starting..."

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Installation' started by CrysisCore, Nov 7, 2009.

  1. CrysisCore

    CrysisCore New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am trying install Windows 7 Ultimate. I tried various times but it keeps hanging in there.

    i7 920
    5870 Crossfire
    EVGA X58 Classified E760
    G.Skill DDR3 6GB 1866 9-9-9-24​
     
  2. reghakr

    reghakr Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    14,220
    Likes Received:
    180
    Hello and welcome to the windows7forums.

    I would try re-burning the ISO at it's slowest speed (1x) and make sure you use a good quality name brand DVD.

    Try using imgburn:
    The Official ImgBurn Website

    Also, perform a "clean" install, not an upgrade.
     
  3. CrysisCore

    CrysisCore New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Is it ok if I use PowerISO instead?
     
  4. reghakr

    reghakr Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    14,220
    Likes Received:
    180
    I've never used it personally, have always used Imgburn.

    Why not download and try Imgburn. If it doesn't work, simply uninstall it.

    Imgburn will also verify the image.
     
  5. MisterTickle

    MisterTickle New Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2009
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Same problem, Since beta, Multiple CD's, Multiple CD's, put hard drive in other pc and installed - worked fine - moves over to main pc and crashes over and over again.

    Please help, I'm fed up and want W7 already, What is wrong with my PC?

    Q6600 Intel 2.4ghZ processor
    GTX 285
    2 GB DDR2 Ram
     
  6. reghakr

    reghakr Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    14,220
    Likes Received:
    180
    Are you trying a "clean" install or an upgrade?

    Is it 32-bit or 64-bit?

    Unplug all your USB devices, printer/scanner, any external USB drives as well.

    You might also want to pull a couple sticks of RAM out also.

    Run the install again.

    BTW, did you try Imgburn?
     
  7. ktr

    ktr New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi I'm having the same problem.
    Did u ever sort this out?

    Also trying a clean install from a DVD I know works, and I have no usb's plugged in :(
     

Share This Page

Loading...