HDMI and Windows 7

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Help and Support' started by Witchsong, Dec 6, 2008.

  1. Witchsong

    Witchsong New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2008
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well, I recently tried to connect my laptop to my friend's 42" LCD-TV, like I used to with Vista. But, now it does not transfer and sound through the HDMI, and the max resolution is capped at 720p instead of 1080p. Anyone know if this is fixable, or am I forced to reinstall Vista?
     
  2. Witchsong

    Witchsong New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2008
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Nevermind. Just found it doesn't default to the HDMI device anymore when cable is plugged in.
     
  3. iroken22

    iroken22 Extraordinary Member
    Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    1,649
    Likes Received:
    49
    re

    Windows 7 does not automatically detect that you have attached external devices like a vga cable or hdmi for that matter. I do not know why this happens but it just must not be programmed into the os
     
  4. Radenight

    Radenight New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    Messages:
    4,525
    Likes Received:
    108
    Probably just because it's still in alpha stages. I'm thinking the beta will be better in these regards.
     
  5. 1967cat

    1967cat New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have HDMI video to TV, but sound still comes out of laptop?

    I can't seem to get the sound to come out of the TV. I have played with the sound devise settings, but can't find a HDMI video/sound configuration. Any suggestion?
     
  6. Witchsong

    Witchsong New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2008
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Should be a HDMI sound device in the list of Playback Devices if you have a native HDMI-output. If you use a DVI-to-HDMI converter, you will have to use S/PDIF.
     
  7. reghakr

    reghakr Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    14,220
    Likes Received:
    180
    Truthfully, I've never seen a sound card with HDMI. The sound card would have to have both sound and video built in to use one connection..

    I have a Nvidia Gefore 8500 X-Fi Extreme which has HDMI

    My Sound Blaster X-Fi Extreme 7.1 card has optical ins and outs (for true digital recoring)

    If you know of such a card, please let me know.
     
  8. Witchsong

    Witchsong New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2008
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    HDMI is not an audio-exclusive media, and as such it will not be used on audio-cards. Graphics cards do have HDMI output, though, so I do not see why you would need an audio-card with HDMI?
     
  9. reghakr

    reghakr Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    14,220
    Likes Received:
    180
    Witchsong,

    Yes, that's exactly what I stated.

    My comment was related to 1967cat question as you stated your problem had been resolved.:)
     

Share This Page

Loading...