HDMI Auto restarts computer

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Help and Support' started by jack3, Jan 11, 2009.

  1. jack3

    jack3 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I built a HTPC about 8 months ago. I use the onboard HDMI port to go to my 42" Philips 1080P LCD HDTV.

    If I reboot my computer with the HDMI plugged in I see the boot screen then it goes black and my TV says unsupported video format and the computer restarts. It does this over and over. If I unplug the HDMI cable and restart, wait a few minutes for it to get into windows then plugin the HDMI cable it works like a charm.

    Anyone else experience this? It is a 64 bit version of the Beta. My computer has 4gbs of ram, nvidia on board HDMI. Let me know if you have any idea, or need anymore information.

    Thanks,

    Jack

    P.S. I have installed the latest version of my drivers from the windows update.
     
  2. isweeney

    isweeney New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yep - I had the same exact issue, although I didn't try unplugging then starting as you did.
    I ended up just installing Vista which works fine.

    Hardware:
    Shuttle SN68PTG5
    GeForce 7050PV on-board, latest drivers (Released 12/31/08)
    4GB PQI RAM (2x2GB)

    You?
     
  3. jack3

    jack3 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    yea. same setup, onboard nvidia with hdmi and latest drivers. 4gb of ram...

    still running 7 just not rebooting. lol

    I was told to try and update my bios... so i am off to do that!
     
  4. isweeney

    isweeney New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah, tried that...no luck with the latest Shuttle BIOS....
     
  5. bluechip

    bluechip New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ditto sighh

    Though my set-up is an Abit AN-M2HD bog standard m/b . I'm thinking of upgrading this with a 1gig graphics card tho. with HDMI of course. I've also not tried letting it boot with the HDMI lead unplugged YET! is this safe? :eek:) But since the whole set-up works on a conventional D plugged monitor then I know it's the HDMI sensing that's causing the problem.

    UPDATE ... Yep, plugging hdmi lead in only after Windows 7 has finished loading, seems to work.
     
    #5 bluechip, Feb 20, 2009
    Last edited: Feb 21, 2009
  6. Matt1

    Matt1 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2014
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
     
    #6 Matt1, Nov 19, 2014
    Last edited: Nov 19, 2014

Share This Page

Loading...