Help! 64 bit or 32 bit?

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Installation' started by Migs, Jun 2, 2009.

  1. Migs

    Migs New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    I need help figuring out whether I should install a 64 bit or 62 bit version of Win 7 because I'm having some trouble deciding.

    Here's my system information:

    Component Details


    Processor AMD Turion(tm) 64 X2 Mobile Technology TL-60 4.8

    Memory (RAM) 3.00 GB

    Graphics NVIDIA GeForce 7150M / nForce 630M

    Gaming graphics 1071 MB Total available graphics memory

    Primary hard disk 34GB Free (137GB Total)

    Windows Vista (TM) Home Premium

    System
    Manufacturer Hewlett-Packard
    Model HP Pavilion dv6700 Notebook PC
    Total amount of system memory 3.00 GB RAM
    System type 32-bit operating system
    Number of processor cores 2
    64-bit capable Yes
    Storage
    Total size of hard disk(s) 149 GB
    Disk partition (C:) 34 GB Free (137 GB Total)
    Disk partition (D:) 2 GB Free (12 GB Total)
    Media drive (E:) CD/DVD
    Graphics
    Display adapter type NVIDIA GeForce 7150M / nForce 630M
    Total available graphics memory 1071 MB
    Dedicated graphics memory 64 MB
    Dedicated system memory 0 MB
    Shared system memory 1007 MB
    Display adapter driver version 7.15.11.7713
    Primary monitor resolution 1280x800
    DirectX version DirectX 9.0 or better
    Network
    Network Adapter Microsoft Tun Miniport Adapter
    Network Adapter NVIDIA nForce Networking Controller
    Network Adapter Atheros AR5007 802.11b/g WiFi Adapter
    It did say 64-bit capable but I stumbled upon this piece of information which confused me:

    Can I upgrade from a 32-bit version of Windows to a 64-bit version of Windows?


    No. If you are currently running a 32-bit version of Windows, you can only perform an upgrade to another 32-bit version of Windows. Similarly, if you are running a 64-bit version of Windows Vista, you can only perform an upgrade to another 64-bit version of Windows Vista.
    If you want to move from a 32-bit version of Windows to a 64-bit version of Windows Vista, you'll need to back up your files and then perform a custom installation of the 64-bit version of Windows Vista.


    Q #1: So can I install a 64-bit Win 7 on my system?

    Here's another one that made my mind boggled:

    [​IMG]Would I benefit from using a 64-bit computer?


    The benefits are most apparent when you have a large amount of random access memory (RAM) installed on your computer (typically 4 GB of RAM or more). Because a 64-bit operating system can handle large amounts of memory more efficiently than a 32-bit operating system can, a 64-bit system can be more responsive when running several programs at the same time and switching between them frequently.


    Q #2: My system has a total amount of system memory of 3 GB of RAM. So I shouldn't install a 64-bit Win 7 because I have less than 4 GB of RAM?

    Also, if it's not much trouble, I also play World of Warcraft a lot and I was wondering if 7- 9 FPS in Dalaran with all low settings (except the resolution which is 1280x800) normal for this machine? I could lower the resolution to improve the performance but is their any other way?
     
  2. loathe

    loathe New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,718
    Likes Received:
    66
    Personally I think you should always install x64 OS's on x64 processors. I looked up your graphics chip here and it is listed in the supported Windows 7 drivers, so go for it. Probably download it first though and put it on a disk or another partition.

    The amount of RAM you have makes no difference, other than you can have more than 3.5GB. I have put a x64 OS on a laptop with 512 with no problems (although it was upgraded a week later with 2GB more).
     
    #2 loathe, Jun 2, 2009
    Last edited: Jun 2, 2009
  3. Migs

    Migs New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Is it possible to put the installer for Win 7 in a external HD instead of burning it in a DVD?
     
  4. loathe

    loathe New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,718
    Likes Received:
    66
    I usually install from a bootable pen drive and have never tried this method, but Im sure it works the same. Heres the guide. Additionally, here is a guide to install from pen drive.
     
  5. Migs

    Migs New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the help, I'll post the results as soon as I finished with the installation.
     
  6. Radenight

    Radenight New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    Messages:
    4,525
    Likes Received:
    108
    It all really depends on what your doing with your pc when you get right down to it.. ;)
     
  7. pointvicente

    pointvicente New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a similar laptop DV6500us (w/ 7150m / 630m) but am having issues installing the proper NVIDIA drivers. I get the "No AGEIA PhysX" message from the NVIDIA control panel. Did you ever have success? How would I go about fixing this?
     

Share This Page

Loading...