Help! BSOD / Virtual Memory Paging

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Blue Screen of Death (BSOD)' started by xout, Oct 30, 2009.

  1. xout

    xout New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Okay, so I was trying to 'tweak' my laptop (HP DV7-1130us) which was recently upgraded to windows 7 home premium.

    I went into System Properties > Advanced > Performance > Advanced > Virtual Memory
    There, stupidly, I tried to maximize my memory speed and set a custom paging allocation of Minimum 4,096 and maximum 4,096 (my ram is 4 GBs, but only 2.75 usable...) I set it, and restarted.

    Now I get a blue screen after the Windows Starting loading screen.

    I ran startup repair, and even let it restore my pc to an earlier point, which did not work.

    I can boot the PC in safe mode.

    Please help me.
     
    #1 xout, Oct 30, 2009
    Last edited: Oct 30, 2009
  2. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,849
    Likes Received:
    1,569
    Xout, if you can boot into 'safe-mode' why not try 'last known config'?
     
  3. xout

    xout New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Tried, still the same.
     
  4. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,849
    Likes Received:
    1,569
    If you can boot into safe-mode can you not change the pagefile back?
     
  5. xout

    xout New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Tried using the same method of which I orginally messed it up, and it only let's me allocate 1000 MHz bc only 256 are usable in safe mode. Is there a way to edit the normal file in the registry or something?
     
  6. xout

    xout New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
  7. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,849
    Likes Received:
    1,569
    Ok.. Thanks for that, stuff like that really helps..:)

    Try taking all your RAM out bar one stick and see if you can boot up and change everyhting back to default settings.
    Failing that, try booting from disk and doing a clean install.. If that fails then you might have to clear the bios but I doubt it.
     
  8. xout

    xout New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank you very much kemical for your help.

    Unfortunately, I removed one stick of ram, and it still wouldn't boot.

    All I have is a windows 7 upgrade disc (nothing else, I never made a restart disc... stupidly) , and it won't even boot from disc. The drive runs, but the screen stays black (been like this for 15 minutes)

    What exactly would the BIOS clearing do? And how would I go about doing that?
     
  9. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,849
    Likes Received:
    1,569
    To clear the bios refer to your motherboard manual or if you can't find that, you can do this in two ways. One, is to take the bios battery out for a minute or two (30 seconds is long enough but leave it bit longer to make sure) or there will be a jumper on your motherboard (usually near the case connectors for HDD light and so on) Sometimes it's a case of either shorting the jumper out by using a special jumper connection or just holding a screwdriver in such a way as to short the jumper out (this is why your motherboard manual is handy).
    Anyway removing the battery will do it.. The bios will then return to factory defaults so you'll have to set it all up again but at least you'll have a working pc....Hopefully..:)
     
  10. xout

    xout New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
  11. xout

    xout New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have pressed both options, and it boots up the same way too a blue screen. Am I doing something wrong?
     
  12. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,849
    Likes Received:
    1,569
  13. xout

    xout New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    thanks, I will try that later tonight.

    Haha... I checked the warranty status. It ran out of warranty, 10/29/09. As in, yesterday. Literally.
     
  14. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,849
    Likes Received:
    1,569
    Sorry to hear about the warranty :eek:.. Please let me know what you end up doing?
     

Share This Page

Loading...