HELP HELP HELP - Windows 7 freezes at startup after installing from Vista Home Prem

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Installation' started by mikey19lon, Dec 20, 2009.

  1. mikey19lon

    mikey19lon New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have installed windows 7 onto my philips HEPC 7511 pc which was running Vista Home Prem but it wont go past the 'starting windows' screen now - i know nothing about computers and really really need a solution.

    Have run the auto fix thingy on CD but says it cannot fix the problem,
    Have tried System Recovery
    Have tried booting from the cd
    i have no recovery disc as far as i know but there is a ?'recovery partition' i saw when clicking on custom to see if i could do something about it

    PLEASE HELP ME - I THINK IVE KILLED MY PC!
     
  2. reghakr

    reghakr Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    14,220
    Likes Received:
    180
    Was rhis an upgrade or a :clean: installl?
     
  3. mikey19lon

    mikey19lon New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    It was an upgrade :-( thanks for speedy reply
     
  4. ickymay

    ickymay New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,689
    Likes Received:
    113
    your system has the spec needed for windows 7 so maybe try a clean install rather than an upgrade ;)
     
    reghakr and (deleted member) like this.
  5. mikey19lon

    mikey19lon New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank you, how do I do that then I'm not aware of the differences
     
  6. reghakr

    reghakr Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    14,220
    Likes Received:
    180
    No question........I would perform a"clean' install.

    An upgrade may carry your problems over.

    Save all you important documents, Pictures, music, videos, Favorites, etc to flash drive.

    Be aware, you'll will have to re-install all your 3rd party applications.
     
  7. mikey19lon

    mikey19lon New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank you, I'd love to be able to back up my files but I can't get past the startup screen even safe mode doesn't work....any suggestions?
     
  8. ickymay

    ickymay New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,689
    Likes Received:
    113
    not sounding great then, if you really need any files from your old install you would need to access the data on your hard drive possibly from a linux boot cd, but if you can cope with losing all your files then you need to perform a wipe and clean install ?

    Brink has written a great set of guides for any scenario but I think >> this one << will work perfectly for you as long as you DONT NEED to keep your old data and files ?
     
  9. Mitchell_A

    Mitchell_A Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,068
    Likes Received:
    240
    If you choose not to format your hard drive, it will put all of your old files in a folder called windows.old where you can do whatever you want with them including over them to your installation.
     
  10. reghakr

    reghakr Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    14,220
    Likes Received:
    180
    No question........I would perform a"clean' install.

    An upgrade may carry your problems over.

    Save all you important documents, Pictures, music, videos, Favorites, etc to flash drive.

    Be aware, you'll will have to re-install all your 3rd party applications. And it will format your drive, that;s what you need.
     

Share This Page

Loading...