Help needed to active upgrade to windows 7

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Installation' started by Nykolas, Nov 1, 2009.

  1. Nykolas

    Nykolas New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just purchased windows 7 home premium upgrade, and i must have done some foolish mistake and this is how it started. I put in my toshiba recovry cd in because i recall the guy at staples saying i have to formart my hard drive, so i did so. Than once completed, i had no operating system, so i loaded the 32 bit cd and installed that, not knowing i need a genuine copy of xp to activate windows 7. Now i have less than 30 days to activate windows 7 without the ability to reinstall my old xp recovery cd. I got no idea what to do or what i did ? I was hoping you fine folks could set me in the right dirrection. ..... I feel like i wasted $140 because it won't work. but so far on this trail or what ever, I <3 windows 7.
     
  2. kbz1960

    kbz1960 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2009
    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hummm wouldn't your recovery cd take you back to the factory image? That is what mine would do.
     
  3. Nykolas

    Nykolas New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    i'm pretty sure the new os overwritted everything on my laptop because it won't load it says loading ramdisk imagage and just pauses and doesn't load the screan it used to. it just turns off my laptop
     
  4. thomasw234

    thomasw234 Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2009
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    6
    Try this, by the sounds of things you have nothing more to lose! Boot up Windows 7 to the desktop, put in your Windows 7 upgrade disc, and tell it to upgrade. I know you'll be upgrading Windows 7 to Windows 7, but try it anyway. It worked for me with the student discount version!

    Thomas.
     
  5. reghakr

    reghakr Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    14,220
    Likes Received:
    180
    Thomas is right, no need to format the drive

    Windows installation will do that for you

    PS,,.,.Don't listen to anything HP tells you, I know first hand
     

Share This Page

Loading...