Windows 7 [HELP] Windows 7 Keyboard problem in EVERY SINGLE GAME!

Discussion in 'Windows Games' started by georgewesker97, Jun 23, 2010.

  1. georgewesker97

    georgewesker97 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have this problem since I installed Windows 7. Now when I hold a button on the keyboard for example "W" games register that I've held it two times as long! I do not know what to do I've lost the will to play.:(
     
  2. fugno

    fugno New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2009
    Messages:
    399
    Likes Received:
    14
    It would help if you listed your system specs.
     
  3. georgewesker97

    georgewesker97 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    My system specs are:

    AMD Athlon x64 (Dual core) 4000+
    2.00 RAM
    ENGTS 250 DDR3 1GB
    320 GB HDD
    GIGABYTE S-Series Motherboards GA-M56S-S3
    Windows 7 Ultimate 32 Bit
    DirectX 11.0

    With this system i can play Crysis on MAX details in 1280x1024.

    I hope you can help me. :(

    My keyboard is: Standard PS/2 Keyboard
     
    #3 georgewesker97, Jun 24, 2010
    Last edited: Jun 24, 2010
  4. fugno

    fugno New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2009
    Messages:
    399
    Likes Received:
    14
    I would try to reinstall your keyboard thru the device manager,here is a link to get your drivers.

    Software Download
     
  5. georgewesker97

    georgewesker97 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    I found out what is my keyboard it's :
    Logitech Y-SU45 Deluxe Keyboard

    There is no drivers for my keyboard neither on site you post neither on logitech site so i dont know where should i find that stupid driver for windows 7.
     
  6. TorrentG

    TorrentG Banned

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Messages:
    7,814
    Likes Received:
    372
    You keyboard uses the native USB driver already present in the OS.

    Reference:

    Deluxe Desktop

    How did you come to the conclusion that "games register that I've held it two times as long"?

    Is it possible that your system specs are below average, making the games not as responsive as you'd like them to be?
     
    #6 TorrentG, Jun 24, 2010
    Last edited: Jun 24, 2010
  7. Agent Data

    Agent Data Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    918
    Likes Received:
    42

    I do not really understand the question but I guess it's probably the key delay/repeat rate you are talking here. these settings are part of the keyboard driver - try the vista driver maybe?
     
  8. Athlonite

    Athlonite New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    792
    Likes Received:
    10
    It's called input LAG and can happen when you play at high res on LCD monitors with low response times ie: greater than 5ms
     
  9. georgewesker97

    georgewesker97 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    My computer isn't below system requirements of my games, i am talking about:

    Just Cause 2
    Portal
    Battlefield Bad Company 2
    SWAT 4
    PES 2010
    TM Nations Forever
     
  10. TorrentG

    TorrentG Banned

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Messages:
    7,814
    Likes Received:
    372
    Which monitor, gpu and cpu are you using?

    What res are you playing games at?
     
  11. georgewesker97

    georgewesker97 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have:

    AMD Athlon x64 (Dual core) 4000+
    2.00 RAM
    ENGTS 250 DDR3 1GB
    320 GB HDD
    GIGABYTE S-Series Motherboards GA-M56S-S3
    Windows 7 Ultimate 32 Bit
    DirectX 11.0

    and my monitor is LG Flatron L1953PR.
    I play at 1280x1024.

    Is that a problem because this games ran properly in windows xp but then i was playing at 1024x728.
     
  12. Agent Data

    Agent Data Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    918
    Likes Received:
    42
    I was saying before get the keyboard driver from Logitech - it is there for download (Win7)
    I bet you have not installed it :)

    btw, your keyboard is U-SU45, no?


     
  13. georgewesker97

    georgewesker97 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    My keyboard is Y-Su45.
     
  14. Agent Data

    Agent Data Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    918
    Likes Received:
    42
    #14 Agent Data, Jun 26, 2010
    Last edited: Jun 26, 2010
  15. TorrentG

    TorrentG Banned

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Messages:
    7,814
    Likes Received:
    372
    If you look earlier in the thread, I've already posted that the keyboard uses native OS drivers. There are none available from Logitech. From the link:

    "This product does not ship with software. It uses the native USB drivers already present in your operating system. "

    It's system lag causing the issue as Athlonite and I are saying.

    George, If you're running AVG, this could be a problem.
     
  16. Athlonite

    Athlonite New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    792
    Likes Received:
    10
    try turning down some of the graphical eye candy settings an see if that helps if not then your just going to have to put up with it or buy better hardware that can cope with the visual demands of the games you want to play
     
  17. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,819
    Likes Received:
    1,565
    I noticed you wrote that you were using a PS/2 connection, you could try changing to USB but really it should be fast enough..
    You could try messing with the settings highlighted in the screenshot as well as giving your machine a general clean using something like this free app: CCleaner - Optimization and Cleaning - Free Download

    View attachment 6764

    Finally if all else fails... Buy, beg or borrow another k'board. :)
     
  18. TorrentG

    TorrentG Banned

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Messages:
    7,814
    Likes Received:
    372
    Going by the cpu comparison chart here, you'll notice the AMD Athlon x64 4000+ Dual Core is not considered blazing fast by any means. These games could be suffering in performance because of the cpu bottleneck.

    PassMark CPU Benchmarks - Common CPU's
     
  19. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,819
    Likes Received:
    1,565
    One way to find would be to do a little overclock.. ;)
     
  20. Highwayman

    Highwayman Extraordinary Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2009
    Messages:
    3,977
    Likes Received:
    112
    also try cleaning crumbs and old spills from between keys
     

Share This Page

Loading...