Help with a Run-Time Error

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Help and Support' started by hummer7, Nov 27, 2009.

  1. hummer7

    hummer7 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
    A program which I have been using with XP computer was installed on a new win7 machine today.
    Installation was successful without any problem.
    When I tried to click the program, it prompted a run time as follows:

    Runtime error - 2147191496 (80047538):
    An attempt was made to refernce a token that does notexist.

    Is there any fix to use this program? Thanks. hummer
     
  2. Joe S

    Joe S Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    3,785
    Likes Received:
    113
    It would help to know what program it is.
    Joe
     
  3. hummer7

    hummer7 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
    It's a simple program: Universal electronic scale (from RadioShack).
    This scale is a simpel USB-device for weighing small packages.
     
  4. Joe S

    Joe S Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    3,785
    Likes Received:
    113
    It may be some type of driver issue. Did you check the manufacturer's site to see if there are any updates?
    Joe
     
  5. martin

    martin New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have same problem

    Radioshack does not have any updates. I went through the Windows 7 compatiblity program with no luck. This USB electronic scale worked fine with Windows XP, now doesn't work in Windows 7. Lame. I'm not impressed.
     
  6. reghakr

    reghakr Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    14,220
    Likes Received:
    180
    Was it a "clean" install or ab upgrade?
     
  7. tblount

    tblount New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,537
    Likes Received:
    64
    Run it in compatability mode. Right click and set it to xp under properties.
     
  8. reghakr

    reghakr Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    14,220
    Likes Received:
    180
    U actually have the electron scale for ebay shipping, It works fine with Vista Drivers,
     
  9. hummer7

    hummer7 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
    It is a three-week old Dell XPS 8000 computer (with Win7).
     
  10. hummer7

    hummer7 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
    I recall that I tried in xp compatibilty mode.
     
  11. dooley

    dooley New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have the same scale. It worked great under Vista.

    I did a CLEAN install of Windows 7 Ulimate. The device was detected, and drivers installed. Under "Devices & Printers" it is in the unspecified category, listed as "USB Electronic Scale"

    Detais on the driver:

    HID-compliant device
    Driver Provider: Microsoft
    Driver Date: 6/21/2006
    Driver Version 6.1.7600.16385

    under "Driver details" button, it says "No driver files are required or have been loaded for this device"

    It is reported as "working properly" in the status.

    The software installs fine, and when I try to run it, I get the exact same error message.
    I've also tried setting compatibilty mode to "XP" and to "Vista" and get the same error.

    I haven't tried "Virtual XP" mode yet, but that will REALLY be a stretch if I have to load a virtual session every time I use the scale....

    Any other ideas?
     
  12. dooley

    dooley New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
  13. N2N

    N2N New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have the same scale and same problem. Any solution?
     
  14. kristain

    kristain New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    RE : Help with a Run-Time Error

    You can troubleshoot the above problem by following the given instructions:
    If a program written for an earlier version of Windows doesn't run correctly, you can try changing the compatibility settings for the program
    Run the Program Compatibility troubleshooter
    Follow the instructions in the troubleshooter.
    If you cannot install a program, insert the installation disc for the program and using the troubleshooter, browse to the program's setup file, usually called Setup.exe, Install.exe, or something similar. The troubleshooter is not designed to work on programs that have an .msi file name extension.
     
  15. thajenius

    thajenius New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Resolved

    I was able to get the scale working by installing the software from Radio Shacks website (260-950) and running the scale appliaction as administrator and Windows 98 compatibility mode (winxp or vista didnt work)
     
  16. fatkinson

    fatkinson New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well, I got it running.

    But every time I click on the icon to start it, I get a User Account Control message asking me if I want to run this program or not.

    Is there any way I can make this message go away for the scale program.

    Regards,


    Fred
     
  17. Captain Jack

    Captain Jack Extraordinary Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    1,952
    Likes Received:
    139
    Follow this Tutorial Elevated Program Shortcut without UAC Prompt - Create - Windows 7 Forums then it will not prompt you.

    Good Luck,
    Captain
     
  18. hummer7

    hummer7 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
    Re: Resolved

    Hi, I will try it as you did. By the way, could you please give me the exact name of the Radio Shacks webpage for the software (260-950). I have the original CD for the scale.
    Will it work? hummer
     
  19. fatkinson

    fatkinson New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I found a copy of the software on a Web site (I didn't keep the URL). I don't have the CD any more.

    I don't think it is on Radio Shack's Web site any more.


    Fred
     

Share This Page

Loading...