Help with setting up a network printer

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Networking' started by bigDaveP, Dec 10, 2011.

  1. bigDaveP

    bigDaveP New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey there, I was just given a Epson Stylus Pro 7000 wide format printer and was wondering how would I set this up as a network printer. Epson stopped updating it's drivers and does not offer a driver for W7 and I've tried in vain to load VPN XP mode without success. I am using an older laptop to drive the printer but it's painfully slow. Any thoughts?
     
  2. helpifIcan

    helpifIcan Extraordinary Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2009
    Messages:
    768
    Likes Received:
    23
    Check to see if there is a Vista driver, sometimes they will work with WIN7.
     
  3. bigDaveP

    bigDaveP New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks but no Vista driver available.
     
  4. Elmer

    Elmer Extraordinary Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    3,873
    Likes Received:
    284
    Hi bigDave and Welcome to The Forum,

    I was just wondering if maybe the drivers for the newer 7400 would work with your m/c??

    How about running it through the Windows Virtual PC?
     
    #4 Elmer, Dec 11, 2011
    Last edited: Dec 11, 2011
  5. bigDaveP

    bigDaveP New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi Elmer, I'll have to try that. On the Windows Virtual PC route, I've tried in vain to install VPC XP mode and it hangs up at 99% and then fail and "Reverts Changes". I've been all over the web trying to get this resolved and many, many people have the same problem with different errors. It never ceases to amaze me that Microsoft writes code that can't even update itself but I'll give the other driver a try .
     
  6. helpifIcan

    helpifIcan Extraordinary Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2009
    Messages:
    768
    Likes Received:
    23
    Maybe VM box would work. Not sure if yo can use drivers within the VM I have always just used the printer that is on the host.
     

Share This Page

Loading...