Honest and to the point, help appreciated......

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Installation' started by Razza12003, Apr 4, 2010.

  1. Razza12003

    Razza12003 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok I have a not so legit copy of windows vista ultimate x64 on my desktop and want to upgrade
    to windows 7. If i buy a windows 7 upgrade disk from microsoft and upgrade from my non-legit
    copy of vista, will my new windows 7 be non-legit as i have upgraded from a illegal copy of vista,
    or would i get a new key with the upgrade disk and thus then have a fully legal copy of windows 7?

    Sorry If That Dont Make Sense Lol.

    Thanks In Advance For Your Reply.
     
  2. cybercore

    cybercore New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Messages:
    15,823
    Likes Received:
    321
    Legitimate Vista is required.
     
  3. Razza12003

    Razza12003 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok cheers, im guessing my vista is an illegal copy as i got a custom built pc from a local pc shop and
    they sold me the copy of vista for like £20 i think it was, so its probably dodgey, although it does pass all
    windows genuine tests. and have never had trouble getting updates ect......
     
  4. cybercore

    cybercore New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Messages:
    15,823
    Likes Received:
    321
    Can you activate it with your legit key online ?
     
  5. Razza12003

    Razza12003 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well when i got to start, contol panel, then system it says:
    Windows Activation:
    Windows is Activated
    and then states my Product Key (which has OEM in it)
     
  6. cybercore

    cybercore New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Messages:
    15,823
    Likes Received:
    321
    It is possible to upgrade vista oem LEGIT to 7. Did you activate your Vista with a key online, or do you have SLIC ?
     
  7. Razza12003

    Razza12003 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have no idea what SLIC lol (sorry). I installed the vista, and on the system window it told me i had 30 days to activate windows.
    so i clicked activate now and then ever since it says its activated and i have never had any problems. installed service packs ect....
     
  8. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,818
    Likes Received:
    1,565

Share This Page

Loading...